Approved:	03/27/2012

#### MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMERCE & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Anthony Brown at 1:34 p.m. on February 8, 2012, in Room 785 of Docking State Office Building.

All members were present.

## Committee staff present:

Chuck Reimer, Revisor

Ken Wilke, Revisor

Raney Gilliland, Research

Reed Holwegner, Research

Joyce Bishop, Committee Assistant

# Conferees appearing before the Committee:

Doug Jorgensen, Director Beverage Control, Department of Revenue

Senator Dick Kelsey

Amy Campbell, Kansas Association of Beverage Retailers

Steve Faust, Owner, MDL Liquor Stores

Jeff Herrig, Sheriff, Jefferson County, KS

Dennis Woods, Owner, Ken-Mar Liquor, Wichita, KS

Spencer Duncan, Keeping Kansas in Business

Tuck Duncan, Executive Secretary, Kansas Wine and Spirits Wholesalers Association

Whitney Damron, Kansas Association for Responsible Liquor Laws

Brad Dickson, Shark Bite Cocktails

Debbie Swinney, Citizen

Donna Lippoldt, Culture Shield Network

Former Representative John Faber

Aaron Rosenow, Owner, Vern's Liquor

Gary Winget, President, Kansan's for Addiction Prevention

Tom Jacob, Jacob Liquor Exchange

Lance & Jennifer Vogel, Rogers & Black's Liquor

Rev. Elwyn J. Luber, Pastor, First Lutheran Church

Robert T. Mills, D.Min., Executive Director, KS-NE Convention of Southern Baptists

Pam Fair, Kansas families Against Liberal Liquor Laws

Whitney Damron, Kansas Association for Responsible Liquor Laws, Inc.

# Chairperson Brown re-opened the hearing on <u>HB 2532–Creating classes of licenses to sell alcoholic</u> beverages at retail; fees, term and eligibility.

Doug Jorgensen, Director of Beverage Control, the Department of Revenue (<u>Attachment 1</u>), completed his testimony from February 7 as a neutral conferee on <u>HB 2532</u>.

The following conferees appeared as opponents of **HB 2532**:

Senator Dick Kelsey (Attachment 2)

Frances Woods, Legislative Director, Woman's Christian Temperance Union (<u>Attachment 3</u>)

### **CONTINUATION SHEET**

The minutes of Commerce & Economic Development Committee at 1:30 PM, on February 8, 2012, in Room 785 of the Docking State Office Building

Amy Campbell, Kansas Association of Beverage Retailers (<u>Attachment 4</u>)

Steve Faust, Owner, MDL Liquor Stores (<u>Attachment 5</u>)

Jeff Herrig, Sheriff, Jefferson County, KS (Attachment 6)

Dennis Woods, Owner, Ken-Mar Liquor, Wichita, KS (Attachment 7)

Spencer Duncan, Keeping Kansas in Business (Attachment 8)

Tuck Duncan, Executive Secretary, Kansas Wine and Spirits Wholesalers Association (Attachment 9)

Whitney Damron, Kansas Association for Responsible Liquor Laws (Attachment 10)

Brad Dickson, Shark Bite Cocktails, Olathe (Attachment 11)

Debbie Swinney, Citizen (Attachment 12)

Donna Lippoldt, Culture Shield Network (Attachment 13)

The following individuals presented written testimony only in opposition to **HB 2532**:

Former Representative John Faber (Attachment 14)

Aaron Rosenow, Owner, Vern's Liquor (Attachment 15)

Gary Winget, President, Kansan's for Addiction Prevention (Attachment 16)

Tom Jacob, Jacob Liquor Exchange (Attachment 17)

Lance & Jennifer Vogel, Rogers & Black's Liquor, KCK (Attachment 18)

Rev. Elwyn J. Luber, Pastor, First Lutheran Church--Topeka (Attachment 19)

Robert T. Mills, D.Min., Executive Director, KS-NE Convention of Southern Baptists (Attachment 20)

Pam Fair, Kansas families Against Liberal Liquor Laws (Attachment 21)

Whitney Damron, Kansas Association for Responsible Liquor Laws, Inc. (Attachment 22)

Chairperson Brown closed the hearing on **HB 2532**.

Chairperson Brown appointed a Subcommittee on **HB 2532** with the following members:

## **CONTINUATION SHEET**

The minutes of Commerce & Economic Development Committee at 1:30 PM, on February 8, 2012, in Room 785 of the Docking State Office Building

Representative Marvin Kleeb, Chairperson Representative Mike Slattery Representative Rob Bruchman Representative Gail Finney Representative Scott Schwab Representative Dennis Hedke Representative Rick Billinger

The meeting adjourned at 3:13 PM.