Approved: February 25, 2011

Date

## MINUTES OF THE HOUSE ENERGY AND UTILITIES COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Carl Holmes at 9:00 A.M. on January 31, 2011, in Room 785 of the Docking State Office Building.

All members were present except: Representative Mike Burgess-excused

Committee staff present:

Matt Sterling, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Cindy Lash, Kansas Legislative Research Department Corey Carnahan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Renae Hansen, Committee Assistant

Others attending:

Nineteen including the attached list.

Representative Forrest Knox presented information on his stand on HCR 5005, (Attachment 1).

Action on:

## HCR 5005- Establishing targets for energy development, consumption and costs.

Comments were made and questions asked by Representatives: Nile Dillmore, and Tom Sloan.

Representative Tom Sloan proposed a substitute (Attachment 2) for the resolution.

Representative Tom Sloan moved to substitute the language in Attachment 2 for the current language in HCR 5005. Seconded by Representative Vern Swanson.

Discussion on the motion was taken up by Representatives: Joe Seiwert, Tom Sloan, Vern Swanson, Don Hineman, Annie Kuether, Forrest Knox, Richard Proehl, Reynaldo Mesa, Carl Holmes, Mike Slattery, and Nile Dillmore.

Representative Forrest Knox called the question on the motion. Motion failed 7 to 9.

Representative Tom Sloan moved the committee introduce the substitute language for a resolution. Seconded by Representative Nile Dillmore. Motion carried.

Representative Nile Dillmore moved to table HCR 5005. Seconded by Representative Reynaldo Mesa. Motion carried.

The action on HCR 5005 was closed.

Discussion on the Kansas Electric Transmission Authority (KETA) by Representative Carl Holmes. Chairman Holmes passed out a map (Attachment 3) with information about the SPP Robust Plan 1 and the Cost Effective Plan. He also spent time talking about the make up of the KETA organization and its mission.

Questions were asked and comments made by Representatives: Forrest Knox, Vern Swanson, Carl Holmes, and Don Hineman.

Mark Schreiber, Westar, helped to answer committee questions about transmission lines and voltage current.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 3, 2011.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:26 A.M.