#### **MINUTES**

### JOINT COMMITTEE ON STATE BUILDING CONSTRUCTION

January 18, 2011 Room 144-S—Statehouse

### **Members Present**

Senator Dwayne Umbarger, Chairperson
Representative Jo Ann Pottorff, Vice-chairperson
Senator Pat Apple
Senator Marci Francisco
Senator Carolyn McGinn representing Senator Jay Emler
Representative Steve Brunk
Representative Bill Feuerborn
Representative Bob Grant
Representative Mitch Holmes

### **Members Absent**

Senator Laura Kelly

## Staff

Audrey Dunkel, Kansas Legislative Research Department Ryan Weir, Kansas Legislative Research Department Joshua Lewis, Chief of Staff for Senator McGinn Gary Deeter, Committee Secretary

# Other Attending

Patrick Hubbell

The Chairperson called the meeting to order at 12:10 p.m. and opened the meeting for nominations for Chairperson and Vice-chairperson.

Representative Feuerborn nominated Representative Pottorff as Chairperson of the Committee for the calendar year 2011; Representative Brunk seconded the motion; and <a href="motion-passed unanimously">the motion passed unanimously</a>.

A motion was made by Representative Grant and seconded by Senator Francisco, to elect Senator Umbarger as Vice-chairperson for calendar year 2011. <u>The motion passed</u> unanimously.

Chairperson Pottorff welcomed Representative Wolf as a new member to the Committee.

Senator Francisco reported that the new lease for the Department of Corrections office in Lawrence is providing much better service for parolees and for staff training.

Representative Feuerborn, noting interest in the Governor's office and in the Legislature toward consolidation of agencies, suggested the Committee be alert for any changes that consolidation might have on leases.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:15 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for February 9, tentatively in 144-S in the Statehouse.

Prepared by Gary Deeter Edited by Audrey Dunkel

	Edited by Aud
Approved by the Committee on:	
June 1, 2011 (Date)	