SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1859

A Resolution congratulating and commending Rita Nienstedt on her retirement.

WHEREAS, Rita Nienstedt is retiring on May 31, 2011 from her position as a family and consumer science teacher at Fort Scott High School. She dedicated 33 years of her life to teaching Kansas students; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Nienstedt graduated from Emporia State University in 1978 with a bachelor of science in education. She earned a masters degree from Fort Hays State University in 1987; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Nienstedt began her teaching career in 1978 as a home economics teacher at Maize Jr.-Sr. High School. She then taught at Stockton High School and Concordia Jr.-Sr. High School before moving to Fort Scott High School, where she has been teaching for the past 18 years; and

WHEREAS, While at Fort Scott High School, Ms. Nienstedt served as FCCLA sponsor, oversaw a student-planned, school-wide assembly on domestic violence and coordinated a grant sponsored by TASK for anti-smoking activities in the Fort Scott middle and high schools; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Nienstedt has also been actively involved in her community through the Buck Run Community Center, Trinity Lutheran Church, Crisis Resource Center, The Beacon, Mother-to-Mother Ministries, Ronald McDonald House, Relay for Life, Habitat for Humanity and Big Brothers/Big Sisters; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Nienstedt and her husband, Richard, have been married since 1977 and have three children, Marshall, Kim and Robyn and three grandchildren, Jack, Grant and Lucas: Now, therefore

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Rita Nienstedt for her many years of teaching and extend our best wishes for her continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send two enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Marshall.

Senate Resolution No. 1859 was sponsored by Senators Pat Apple and Bob Marshall. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.