Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Nov. 15, 2018
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

Minutes for HB2046 - Committee on Health and Human Services

Short Title

Anesthesiologist assistant licensure act.

Minutes Content for Mon, Jan 30, 2017

Chairman Hawkins opened the hearing on HB2046.

Norm Furse, Office of Revisor of Statutes, presented the bill brief on HB2046.


Rachelle Colombo, Director, Government Affairs, Kansas Medical Society (Attachment 2)

Kathy Perryman, M.D., Pediatric Anesthesiologist, Children's Mercy Hospital (Attachment 3)

Ty Townsend, CAA, Secretary, American Academy of Anesthesiologist Assistants (Attachment 4)

Written proponents:

Julie Banderas, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS, University of Missouri, Kansas City (Attachment 5)

Jeffrey S. Plagenhoef, M.D., American Society of Anesthesiologists (Attachment 6)

Adam Striker, M.D., Anesthesia Associates of Kansas City (Attachment 7)

Damon "Chris" Dixon, M.D., Anesthesia Associates of Kansas City (Attachment 8)

Kansas Society of Anesthesiologists (Attachment 9)


Ron Hein, Legislative Counsel, Kansas Association of Nurse Anesthetists (Attachment 10)

Paul Hertel, CRNA, DNP; President, Kansas Association of Nurse Anesthetists (Attachment 11)

Donna Nyght, DNP, CRNA, Deputy Chair, University of Kansas Nurse Anesthesia Education (Attachment 12)

Benjamin Anderson, MBA, MCHDS, CEO, Kearny County Hospital (Attachment 13)

Jerry Campbell, CRNA (Attachment 14).

Written Opponents:

Sharon Niemann, DNAP, CRNA, Progress Director, Newman University, Nurse Anesthesia Program (Attachment 15)

Jason Bolyard, CRNA (Attachment 16)

Trent Blackwill, RN, Student Registered Nurse Anesthetist (Attachment 17)

Written neutral:

Kathleen Selzer Lippert, JD, Executive Director, Kansas State Board of Healing Arts (Attachment 18)

After a question and answer period, the Chairman closed the hearing on HB2046.

The next Health and Human Services Committee meeting is scheduled for January 31, 2017, at 1:30 pm in Room 546-S at the Capitol

The Chairman adjourned the meeting at 3:01 pm.