Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Nov. 12, 2018
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

Minutes for HB2270 - Committee on K-12 Education Budget

Short Title

Creating the education finance act.

Minutes Content for Wed, Feb 15, 2017

Chairperson Campbell opened the hearing on HB 2270 and asked Jason Long, Senior Assistant Revisor, to present an overview of the bill.(Attachment 1)  Questions were asked by Representatives Winn, Schwab, Trimmer and Karleskint.  There was no fiscal note for this bill; however, Sharon Wenger, Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Research Department, distributed an explanation from the Division of Fiscal and Administrative Services, Kansas State Department of Education, showing the effects of this proposed plan.(Attachment 2)

Sharon Wenger, Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Research Department, stated that she would provide to the Committee via e-mail the information needed to answer their questions in regard to individual school districts.  Those materials are attached.(Attachment 3)  (Attachment 4)

Chairperson Campbell recognized Representative Melissa Rooker, 25th District, Kansas House of Representatives to speak as a proponent for HB 2270.(Attachment 5)  Questions were asked by Representatives Schwab, Winn, Jones, and Karlesknit. 

The following conferees were welcomed by Chairperson Campbell and were oral proponents for HB 2270:

Mark Desetti, Kansas National Education Association (Attachment 6)

Steve Karlin, Ed.D., USD 457, Garden City Schools (Attachment 7)

Dr. Steve Pegram, USD 434, Santa Fe Trail Schools (Attachment 8)

Devin Wilson, Shawnee Mission School District Area Council of PTA's (Attachment 9)

Jeremy LaFaver, Alliance for Childhood Education (Attachment 10)

Dr. Wayne Burke and Doug Schwinn, USD 230, Spring Hill (Attachment 11)  (Attachment 12)

Erin Gould and Judith Deedy, Game On for Kansas Schools (Attachment 13)

Ed Peterson, MainStream Coalition (Attachment 14)

Mark Tallman, Kansas Association of School Boards (Attachment 15)

Mary Sinclair, PhD, Kansas Parent Teacher Association (Attachment 16)

Aaric Davis, USD 337, Royal Valley Schools (Attachment 17)

Dr. Cory Gibson, USD 262, Valley Center Schools (Attachment 18)

Justin Coup, USD 393, Solomon (Attachment 19)

There were five written-only proponents:

Kelly Lampe, USD 459, Bucklin (Attachment 20)

Jeff Travis, USD 273, Beloit (Attachment 21)

Brian D. Smith, USD 499, Galena (Attachment 22)

Renae Hickert, USD 480, Liberal (Attachment 23)

Five Shawnee County School Districts: USD 345, USD 450, USD 437, USD 372, USD 501 (Attachment 24)

Chairperson Campbell welcomed the opponents to the Committee meeting.  Those appearing in opposition to HB 2270 were:

Dave Trabert, Kansas Policy Institute (Attachment 25)

Cassandra Barton, Insight School of Kansas and Kansas Virtual Academy (Attachment 26)

Dr. Walt Chappell, Educational Management Consultants (Attachment 27)

There was no written-only opponent testimony submitted.

Chairperson Campbell welcomed the conferees presenting oral neutral testimony.

Dr. Pat All, USD 233, Olathe (Attachment 28)

John Allison, Wichita Public Schools (Attachment 29)

Dr. Mike Slagle, USD 229, Blue Valley Schools (Attachment 30)

Zeke Rash, Kansas Connections Academy (Attachment 31)

Doug Maxwell, USD 265, Goddard Public Schools (Attachment 32)

Individuals presenting written-only neutral testimony:

Shellaine Kiblinger, USD 308, Hutchinson Public Schools (Attachment 33)

Stuart J. Little, Shawnee Mission School District (Attachment 34)

Alan R. Cunningham and William R. Hammond, USD 443, Dodge City (Attachment 35)  (Attachment 36)

Bill Brady, Schools for Fair Funding (Attachment 37)

David Smith, Kansas City, Kansas Public Schools (Attachment 38)

There being no other conferees, Chairperson Campbell closed the hearing on HB 2270.