Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Jan. 16, 2018
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

Minutes for HB2139 - Committee on Health and Human Services

Short Title

Licensure of dental therapists.

Minutes Content for Tue, Feb 14, 2017

The Chairperson opened the hearing on HB2139.

Norm Furse, Revisor Emeritus, presented the bill brief for HB2139.

The following conferees appeared before the committee as proponents, opponents  or provided supporting or opposing written testimony for HB2139.


Lisa Thurlow, DDS (Attachment 15);

Mollie Day, DDS, Heartland Community Health Center (Attachment 16);

Bryan Brady, First Care Clinic (Attachment 17).

Written proponents:

Janette Delinger, RDH, MSDH, Kansas Dental Hygienists' Association (Attachment 18);

Loretta Seidl, CEO, Registered Dental Hygienist  (Attachment 19);

Ron Hein, Legislative Counsel, HCA Governmental Relations (Attachment 20);

Bob Williams, Executive Director, Kansas Association of Osteopathic Medicine (Attachment 21);

Jeff Glendening, Americans for Prosperity (Attachment 22);

Kartina McGivern, Amanda Gress, Kansas Dental Project (Attachment 23);

Steve Coen, Kansas Health Foundation (Attachment 24);

Brenda Sharpe, REACH Healthcare Foundation (Attachment 25);

Kim Moore, United Methodist Health Ministry Fund (Attachment 26);

Leon Assael, DMD (Attachment 27);

Cheryl Biesterfeld, DDS (Attachment 28);

Frank Catalanotto, DMD (Attachment 29);

Melinda Miner, DDS (Attachment 30);

Dan Minnis, DDS (Attachment 31);

Todd Thurlow, DDS (Attachment 32);

Heather Flick, RDH, MNS, MPH (Attachment 33);

Andrea Buls, RDH (Attachment 34);

Tamsie Streasand, RDH (Attachment 35);

Abby Tate, RDH, ECPII (Attachment 36);

Christina Thomas, RDH (Attachment 37);

Jeanne L Ramos, RDH (Attachment 38);

Denise Cyzman, Kansas Association for the Medically Underserved (Attachment 39);

Dave Sanford, GraceMed (Attachment 40);

Michelle Keller, Swope Health Services (Attachment 41);

Jason Wesco, Community Health Center of Southeast Kansas (Attachment 42);

Phillip Davis, Flint Hills Communnity Health Center (Attachment 43);

Sister Janice Thomas, Dominican Sisters Ministry of Presence (Attachment 44);

Melissa Wangeman, Kansas Association of Counties (Attachment 45);

Ed Eilert, Johnson County (Attachment 46);

Johnson County Commission on Aging (Attachment 47);

Robert Moser, MD, Kansas Public Health Association (Attachment 48);

Annie McKay, Kansas Action for Children (Attachment 49);

John Bellome, AARP Kansas (Attachment 50);

Rich Minder, Success by 6 Coalition of Douglas County (Attachment 51);

Scott Anglemyer, Kansas Association of Community Action Programs (Attachment 52);

Jeanette Collier, NEK-CAP, Inc (Attachment 53);

Tim Wood, InterHab (Attachment 54);

Tanya Dorf Brunner, Oral Health Kansas (Attachment 55);

Christie Appelhanz, Children's Alliance (Attachment 56);

Janis DeBoer, Kansas Area Agencies on Aging Association (Attachment 57);

Rachel Monger, LeadingAge Kansas (Attachment 58);

Mitzi McFatrich, Kansas Advocates for Better Care (Attachment 59);

David Toland, Thrive Allen County (Attachment 60);

Rick Cagan, National Alliance on Mental Illness, Kansas Chapter (Attachment 61);

Michelle Ponce, Kansas Association of Local Health Departments (Attachment 62);

Colleen McDermott, Concorde Career College (Attachment 63);

Sean Gatewood/Donn Teske, Kansas Farmers Union (Attachment 64);

Susan McLoughlin, MSN, RN, CPNP, Mother and Child Health Coalition (Attachment 65);

Grethen H Kunkel, Chair, Healthy Communities Wyandotte Policy Committee (Attachment 66).