Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Dec. 31, 2017
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

2016 Statute



Prev Article 1. - FIRE SAFETY AND PREVENTIONNext


31-159.Violations of fire prevention code, administrative penalties. (a) In addition to any other penalty provided by law, the state fire marshal, upon finding that any person has violated the provisions of the Kansas fire prevention code, may impose a penalty not to exceed $1,000, which shall constitute an actual and substantial economic deterrent to the violation for which the penalty is assessed.

(b) No penalty shall be imposed pursuant to this section except upon the written order of the state fire marshal to the person who committed the violation. The order shall state the violation, the penalty imposed and the right to appeal to the state fire marshal. Any such person, within 30 days after service of such order, may make written request to the fire marshal for a hearing thereon. The fire marshal shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act within 30 days after receipt of such request.

(c) Any person aggrieved by any order issued pursuant to this section may appeal such order in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas judicial review act.

(d) All moneys received from penalties imposed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the state general fund.

(e) If a fire safety inspection is required to meet licensing requirements of a state agency, the state fire marshal, before imposing a penalty pursuant to this section, shall make written request to the state licensing agency to take appropriate action to require compliance with the Kansas fire prevention code. If the state licensing agency fails to take such action within 60 days after receipt of the state fire marshal's notice, the state fire marshal may impose a penalty as provided by this section.

History: L. 1993, ch. 65, § 1; L. 2001, ch. 5, § 97; L. 2010, ch. 17, § 47; July 1.



Prev Article 1. - FIRE SAFETY AND PREVENTIONNext
2017. Powered by KLISS. Rendered: 2017-12-31T10:41:37. Head Rev No: 344942