Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Dec. 3, 2020
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

Minutes for HB2131 - Committee on Rural Revitalization

Short Title

Providing for a sales tax exemption for construction and certain purchases for businesses qualifying as part of an enterprise zone.

Minutes Content for Thu, Feb 14, 2019

Adam Seibers provided an overview of the bill and answered questions from the committee.

Kathleen Smith, Kansas Department of Revenue, explained the fiscal note on HB2131 and answered questions from committee members.

Heather Morgan provided testimony in support of HB2131 referring to the bill as the Spur Kansas Growth Act in an attempt to avoid any confusion regarding the various pieces of legislation establishing economic development zones.  Ms. Morgan explained other existing programs and the qualifications they require which can be difficult for a rural community to meet.  She believes HB2131 would help rural areas qualify for needed help.  Ms. Morgan answered questions from committee members. (Attachment 1)

Christy Hopkins provided testimony in support of HB2131 and explained that rural communities have more avenues available for accessing help than rural businesses have.  She emphasized the value of having a variety of tools available and expressed her belief that this bill would provide a valuable tool for rural business.  Ms. Hopkins answered questions from the committee. (Attachment 2)

Ashlee Bevan spoke in favor of HB2131 expressing her view that this legislation could be a catalyst to increased revenue flow through the creation of jobs and business.  Ms. Bevan answered questions from committee members. (Attachment 3)

Written testimony in favor of HB2131 was submitted by:

   Lona Duvall, President/CEO, Finney County Economic Development Corporation (Attachment 4)

   Nick Poels, Executive Director, Phillips County Economic Development (Attachment 5)

   Linette Miller, Executive Director, Edwards County Economic Development (Attachment 6)

   Dan Morgan, The Builders’ Association (Attachment 7)

   Vienna Lee, Director, Morton County Economic Development (Attachment 8)

   Joann Knight, Executive Director, Dodge City/Ford County Economic Development (Attachment 9)

   Roger Hrabe, Director, Rooks County Economic Development (Attachment 10)

   Trent Armbrust, Board Member, Kansas Economic Development Alliance (KEDA) (Attachment 11)

   Katie Eisenhour, Executive Director, Scott County Development Committee, Inc. (Attachment 12)

   Kerri Falletti, Director, Cowley County Economic Development Partnership (Attachment 13)

   Melissa Roberts, Vice-President of Strategy & Economic Development, Enterprise Center in              Johnson County (Attachment 14)

The Chair asked if there were others present who would like to testify on HB2131; there were none. The hearing on HB2131 was closed.

The next meeting of the House Committee on Rural Revitalization will be Monday, February 18, 2019.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:45 a.m.