Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
June 29, 2022
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

Minutes for SB38 - Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources

Short Title

Establishing the Kansas pesticide waste disposal program and permitting up to $50,000 to be transferred annually from the Kansas agricultural remediation fund to a new Kansas pesticide waste disposal fund.

Minutes Content for Tue, Jan 26, 2021

Chairperson Kerschen opened the hearing on SB38. 

Tamera Lawrence of Revisor of Statutes explained the bill.

Randy Stookey spoke in support of the bill.  He explained that the bill amends the the existing remediation fund to provide for annual transfers of up to $50,000 from the remediation fund to the pesticide disposal program.This program and fund is managed by the Kansas Department of Agriculture and helps pay for the safe collection and disposal of pesticide waste materials. He believes that this program is good industry stewardship and sound public policy.(Attachment 1)

Shahira Stafford testified in support of the bill.  She told the committee that members of the Cooperative Council that she represents believe that paying for the safe collection and disposal of pesticide waste materials is a valuable use of their dollars.(Attachment 2)

Kelsey Olson spoke as a proponent of the bill.  She explained to the committee that the bill will facilitate the proper disposal of unwanted pesticides by reducing the financial burden associated with the disposal and it will reduce the human exposure risk by having the waste pesticides packaged and shipped by professionals.  (Attachment 3)

Written proponent testimony as provided by:

Shelby Rowell- Kansas Department of Health and Environment(Attachment 4)

John Donley- Kansas Farm Bureau(Attachment 5)

Josh Rowe-on behalf of Kansas Corn Growers, Kansas Grain Sorghum, Kansas Soybean, and Kansas Wheat Associations(Attachment 6)

Zack Pistora- Kansas Sierra Club(Attachment 7)

Chairperson Kerschen closed the hearing on SB38.

With no other business before the committee, Chairperson Kerschen adjourned the meeting at 9:10.