Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Aug. 9, 2022
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

2021 Statute


49-621. Same; civil penalties; amount; procedures. (a) The secretary, upon finding that the operator has failed to comply with any provision of this act, any provision of a reclamation plan or any condition of a license or site registration with which the operator is required to comply pursuant to this act, may impose upon the operator a civil penalty not exceeding $1,000 for each day of noncompliance.

(b) All civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be due and payable within 35 days after written notice of the imposition of a civil penalty has been served upon whom the penalty is being imposed, unless a longer period of time is granted by the secretary or unless the operator appeals the assessment as provided in this section.

(c) No civil penalty shall be imposed under this section except upon the written order of the secretary or the secretary's designee to the operator upon whom the penalty is to be imposed, stating the nature of the violation, the penalty imposed and the right of the operator upon whom the penalty is imposed to appeal to the director for a hearing on the matter. An operator upon whom a civil penalty has been imposed may appeal, within 15 days after service of the order imposing the civil penalty, to the secretary. If appealed, a hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act. The decision of the secretary shall be final unless review is sought under subsection (d).

(d) Any action of the secretary pursuant to this section is subject to review in accordance with the Kansas judicial review act.

History: L. 1994, ch. 197, § 21; L. 2010, ch. 17, § 96; L. 2021, ch. 74, § 22; May 6.

2022. Powered by KLISS. Rendered: 2022-08-09T08:02:10. Head Rev No: 836909(I)