Journal of the House

HALL OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, TOPEKA, KS, Monday, December 5, 2022, 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 46-142, Scott Schwab, Secretary of State, called the pre-organizational meeting of the 2023 Session of the Kansas Legislature to order.

The roll was called by Mr. Schwab from the list of members-elect as certified by the State Board of Canvassers:

State of Kansas Secretary of State

I, SCOTT SCHWAB, Secretary of State, do hereby certify that the following persons were elected members of the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas for a two year term beginning on the second Monday of January, A.D. 2023.

District

- 1st Michael Houser
- 2nd Kenneth (Ken) Collins
- 3rd Charles (Chuck) Smith
- 4th Trevor Jacobs
- 5th Carrie Barth
- 6th Samantha M. Poetter Parshall
- 7th Dan Goddard
- 8th Chris Croft
- 9th Fred Gardner
- 10th Christina Haswood
- 11th Ron Bryce
- 12th Doug Blex
- 13th Joe Newland
- 14th Dennis Miller
- 15th Allison Hougland
- 16th Linda Featherston
- 17th Jo Ella Hoye
- 18th Cindy Neighbor
- 19th Stephanie Sawyer Clayton
- 20th Mari-Lynn Poskin
- 21st Jerry Stogsdill
- 22nd Lindsay Vaughn
- 23rd Susan Ruiz
- 24th Jarrod Ousley
- 25th Rui Xu

District

- 26th Adam T. Thomas
- 27th Sean Edward Tarwater, Sr.
- 28th Carl Turner
- 29th Heather Meyer
- 30th Laura Williams
- 31st Louis E. Ruiz
- 32nd Pam Curtis
- 33rd Mike Thompson
- 34th Valdenia C. Winn
- 35th Marvin S. Robinson II
- 36th Lynn Melton
- 37th Melissa Oropeza
- 38th Timothy H. Johnson
- 39th Owen Donohoe
- 40th David Buehler
- 41st Pat Proctor
- 42nd Lance W. Neelly
- 43rd Bill Sutton
- 44th Barbara W. Ballard
- 45th Mike Amyx
- 46th Dennis "Boog" Highberger
- 47th Ronald B. Ellis
- 48th Dan Osman
- 49th Brad Boyd
- 50th Fred C. Patton

District	
51 st	Kenny Titus
52 nd	Jesse Borjon
53 rd	Kirk R. Haskins
54^{th}	Ken Corbet
55^{th}	Tobias Schlingensiepen
56^{th}	Virgil Weigel
57^{th}	John Alcala
58^{th}	Vic Miller
59 th	Rebecca Schmoe
60^{th}	Mark Schreiber
61 st	Francis Awerkamp
62 nd	Randy Garber
63 rd	John R. Eplee
64^{th}	Lewis (Bill) Bloom
65 th	Jeff Underhill
66^{th}	Sydney Carlin
67 th	Mike Dodson
68^{th}	Nathan (Nate) Butler
69 th	Clarke Sanders
70^{th}	Scott Hill
71 st	Steven K. Howe
72 nd	Avery Anderson
73 rd	Les Mason
74^{th}	Stephen Owens
75^{th}	Will Carpenter
76 th	Eric L. Smith
77 th	Kristey S. Williams
78^{th}	Robyn R. Essex
79 th	Webster T. Roth
80^{th}	Bill Rhiley
81 st	Blake Carpenter
82 nd	Leah Howell
83^{rd}	Henry Helgerson
84 th	Ford Carr
85^{th}	Patrick A. Penn
86^{th}	Silas Miller
87^{th}	Susan Oliver Estes

District 88th Sandy Pickert 89th KC Ohaebosim 90th Carl Maughan 91st Emil M. Bergauist 92nd John Carmichael 93rd Brian Bergkamp 94th Leo G. Delperdang 95th Tom Sawyer 96th Tom Kessler 97^{th} Nick Hoheisel 98th Cyndi Howerton 99th Susan Humphries 100th Daniel Hawkins 101st Joe Seiwert 102nd Jason Probst 103rd Angela Martinez 104th Paul M. Waggoner 105th Brenda Landwehr 106th Lisa M. Moser 107th Susan L. Concannon 108th Brandon Woodard 109th Troy L. Waymaster 110th Ken Rahjes 111th Barb Wasinger 112th Tory Marie Blew 113th Brett Fairchild 114th Michael Murphy 115th Gary White 116th Kyle D. Hoffman 117th Adam Turk 118th Jim Minnix 119th Jason W. Goetz 120th Adam Smith 121st John Resman 122nd William Clifford 123rd Bob Lewis 124th David Younger 125th Shannon Francis

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused to be affixed my official seal this 5th day of December, A.D. 2022.

> SCOTT SCHWAB Secretary of State

2

Secretary of State, Scott Schwab, appointed Member-Elect Patton to serve as temporary chairperson.

Mr. Patton announced that in accordance with K.S.A. 42-142 upon adjournment, the majority and minority parties will caucus and nominate their candidates for Speaker and Speaker pro tem for the next term and select their majority leader, minority leader and other caucus or party officers.

Mr. Patton declared: "There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned. The House will convene on Monday, January 9, 2023 at 2:00 p.m."

> JENNY HAUGH, JULIA WERNER, Journal Clerks. SUSAN W. KANNARR, Chief Clerk.

Subsequent to adjournment, the members-elect of the majority party met and caucused as required by KSA 46-142.

The caucus nominated Daniel Hawkins as Speaker of the House of Representatives and Blake Carpenter as Speaker Pro Tem of the House of Representatives.

The following caucus or party officers were selected:

Majority Leader, Chris Croft Assistant Majority Leader, Les Mason Majority Whip, Susan Estes Caucus Chair, Kristey Williams

Also, the members-elect of the minority party met and caucused as required by KSA 46-142, and selected the following caucus or party officers:

Minority Leader, Vic Miller

Assistant Minority Leader, Valdenia Winn Minority Whip, Stephanie Clayton Agenda Chairperson, Jerry Stogsdill Caucus Chairperson, Barbara W. Ballard Paliay Chairmerson, Christian Hawyood

Policy Chairperson, Christina Haswood

INTERIM APPOINTMENTS

I, SCOTT SCHWAB, Secretary of State – State of Kansas, hereby certify that Matthew Bingesser was appointed by the Governor, September 15th, 2022, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of John Toplikar, State Representative for the 15th Legislative District.

Representative-elect Bingesser came forward, took and subscribed, or affirmed his oath of office, administered by Secretary of State – State of Kansas, SCOTT SCHWAB as follows:

STATE OF KANSAS, COUNTY OF SHAWNEE, SS:

I do solemnly swear, or affirm, that I will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the State of Kansas, and will faithfully discharge the

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

duties of the office of

KANSAS STATE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE 15th Legislative District so help me God.

MATTHEW BINGESSER

Subscribed and Sworn to, or Affirmed, before me this 15th day of September, 2022.

SCOTT SCHWAB Secretary of State State of Kansas

I, SCOTT SCHWAB, Secretary of State – State of Kansas, hereby certify that Ford Carr was appointed by the Governor, September 30th, 2022, to fill the vacancy created by the death of Gail Finney, State Representative for the 84th Legislative District.

Representative-elect Carr came forward, took and subscribed, or affirmed his oath of office, administered by Secretary of State – State of Kansas, SCOTT SCHWAB as follows:

STATE OF KANSAS, COUNTY OF SHAWNEE, SS:

I do solemnly swear, or affirm, that I will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the State of Kansas, and will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of

KANSAS STATE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE 84th Legislative District so help me God.

FORD CARR

Subscribed and Sworn to, or Affirmed, before me this 30th day of September, 2022.

SCOTT SCHWAB Secretary of State State of Kansas

I, KAREN A. CLOWERS, Notary Public – State of Kansas, hereby certify that Carl Maughan was appointed by the Governor, October 27^{th} , 2022, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Steven Huebert, State Representative for the 90^{th} Legislative District.

Representative-elect Maughan came forward, took and subscribed, or affirmed his oath of office, administered by Notary Public – State of Kansas, KAREN A. CLOWERS as follows:

STATE OF KANSAS, COUNTY OF SHAWNEE, SS:

I do solemnly swear, or affirm, that I will support the Constitution of the United

4

DECEMBER 5, 2022

States, and the Constitution of the State of Kansas, and will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of

KANSAS STATE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE 90th Legislative District so help me God.

CARL MAUGHAN

Subscribed and Sworn to, or Affirmed, before me this 27th day of October, 2022.

KAREN A. CLOWERS Notary Public State of Kansas