

United Community Services of Johnson County

Written-Only Testimony in Support of House Bill 2108

Julie Brewer, Executive Director of United Community Services of Johnson County

Date: January 26, 2023

Julie K. Brewer, Executive Director United Community Services of Johnson County, Inc. 9001 W. 110th St., Ste 100 Overland Park, KS 66210

Chairman Smith and Members of the House Committee on Taxation:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify **in support of House Bill 2108**. United Community Services of Johnson County (UCS) is a nonprofit agency that provides data analysis, leads collaborative planning, and mobilizes resources to enhance the availability and delivery of health and human services in Johnson County and the surrounding area.

UCS believes in the importance of supporting policies, programs and services that are invested in the success of our community's most vital resource - its people. Many working families across Kansas have become increasingly cost burdened in their housing, healthcare, childcare and other necessities like clothing and school supplies. For example, families with two children pay on average \$19,736 per year for childcare, or 17% of the median household income for Johnson County.

The most recent U.S. Census data show that more than 15% of school age children in Johnson County are low-income defined as 200% of the federal poverty level, or \$43,920 for a family of three. The purchase of critical items, like school supplies and education equipment consumes a higher portion of low-income households' income, resulting in lower-income households paying a larger portion of their income in taxes than higher income households.

UCS advocates for the advancement of fiscal and taxation policies that support families' ability to reach and maintain economic stability and further educational attainment and workforce growth. Implementing a **Sales Tax Holiday for Back to School Supplies** would provide direct relief to hardworking families with children at all levels of education. **UCS supports House Bill 2108.**

*Source: U.S. Census ACS 2021 1-year date; Johnson County Government https://www.jocogov.org/faq/7656

Board Members

Thomas Herzog, President Dr. Putul Allen, MD Janet Barrow, EdD **David Brown** Marshaun Butler Joe Connor Erik Erazo Rev. Adam Hamilton **Robin Rollins Harrold** Stephen Kyle Patty Markley Dr. L. Michael McCloud, PhD Hon. Eric Mikkelson Jeff Short Hon. Donald Roberts Vanessa Vaughn West **Dave White**

Council of Advisors

Rebecca Yocham

Mary Birch Dr. Andy Bowne Pat Colloton Dr. Stuart Day Hon. Peggy Dunn Hon. Ed Eilert Jeff Ellis SuEllen Fried Ellen Hanson **Terrie Huntington Audrey Langworthy** Penny Postoak Ferguson Jill Quigley **Tom Robinett** Clint Robinson Carol Sader **Brad Stratton** Charlie Sunderland Hon. Stephen Tatum David Warm

Julie K. Brewer

