## TENTATIVE AGENDA\*

## 2023 SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON CIVIL ASSET FORFEITURE

December 06, 2023

Wednesday, December 6 All-Day Session

112-N—Statehouse
Harmony: http://sq001-

harmony.sliq.net/00287/Harmony/en/PowerBrowser/PowerBrowserV2/20231206/-1/17144

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fRYAdn\_f-8

Yo	ouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fRYAdn_f-8
9:00 a.m.	Welcome
9:05 a.m.	Presentation on Kansas Civil Asset Forfeiture Laws and HB 2380 Overview  Natalie Scott, Assistant Revisor of Statutes, Office of Revisor of Statutes
9:35 a.m.	<ul> <li>Overview of Recent Changes to Forfeiture Laws in Other States</li> <li>Tim Anderson, Director of Communications, The Council of State Governments, Midwestern Office</li> </ul>
10:00 a.m.	<ul> <li>Presentation on Kansas Asset Seizure and Forfeiture Repository Data</li> <li>Jessica Crowder, Program Consultant, Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI)</li> </ul>
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:40 a.m.	Presentation on Report of the Judicial Council Civil Asset Forfeiture Advisory Committee  Hon. Benjamin J. Sexton, Kansas Judicial Council
11:30 a.m.	Lunch
1:00 p.m.	<ul> <li>Proponents to Changing Kansas Forfeiture Laws</li> <li>Sam MacRoberts, Litigation Director and General Counsel, Kansas Justice Institute</li> <li>Greg Glod, Senior Criminal Justice Policy Fellow, Americans for Prosperity</li> <li>John Pollock, Coordinator, National Coalition for a Civil Right to</li> </ul>

Counsel (Written-Only)

<sup>\*</sup> Any individual with a disability may request accommodation in order to participate in committee meetings. Requests for accommodation should be made at least two working days in advance of the meeting by contacting Legislative Administrative Services at (785) 296-2391 TTY: 711

- 2:00 p.m. Neutral Comments on Changing Kansas Forfeiture Laws
  - Tony Mattivi, Director, KBI
  - John Goodyear, General Counsel, League of Kansas Municipalities (Written Only)
- 2:25 p.m. Break
- 2:35 p.m. Opponents to Changing Kansas Forfeiture Laws
  - Col. Erik Smith, Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol
  - Lt. Col. Eric Houston, Overland Park Police Department
  - Chief Darrell Atteberry, Bel Aire Police Department, Legislative Committee Chair, Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police
  - Lt. Jason Thompson, Newton Police Department, 1st Vice President, Kansas Narcotics Association and Kansas Peace Officers Association
  - Sheriff Jeff Easter, Sedgwick County, Legislative Committee Chair, Kansas Sheriffs' Association
- 4:00 p.m. Committee Discussion and Recommendations
- 5:00 p.m. Adjourn