Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612

Adam Proffitt, Director



Phone: (785) 296-2436 adam.c.proffitt@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

January 24, 2023

The Honorable Molly Baumgardner, Chairperson Senate Committee on Education 300 SW 10th Avenue, Room 144-S Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Senator Baumgardner:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for SB 48 by Senate Committee on Education

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning SB 48 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

Under current law, the Kansas Postsecondary Technical Education Authority is composed of 12 members, of which four members are appointed by the Kansas Board of Regents. SB 48 would reduce the number of members appointed by the Kansas Board of Regents to two members; add one member appointed by the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees to represent community colleges; and add one member appointed by the Kansas Technical Colleges to represent technical colleges. The bill would limit members to four-year terms; clarify that the Commissioner of Education, Secretary of Commerce, Secretary of Labor, or each designee must serve as non-voting ex officio members; prohibit ex officio members from serving as chairperson of the Authority or any subcommittee established by the Authority; and clarify that there is no limit on the number of terms a member may serve so long as each member is appointed by an appropriate appointing authority

The Kansas Board of Regents indicates the enactment of SB 48 would have no fiscal effect.

Sincerely,

Adam Proffitt

Director of the Budget

- C.- 7