Session of 2023

## Senate Resolution No. 1724

By Senators Erickson, Francisco, Masterson and Sykes

4-27

1	A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2022–2023
2	University of Kansas women's basketball team on an outstanding
3	season and for winning the program's first Women's National
4	Invitation Tournament (WNIT) Championship.
5	
6	WHEREAS, On April 1, 2023, the University of Kansas women's
7	basketball team completed an outstanding season by winning the
8	WNIT Championship; and
9	WHEREAS, The Jayhawks completed a perfect 6-0 run in the WNIT
10	tournament by downing Western Kentucky University (86-72), the
11	University of Missouri (75-47), the University of Nebraska (64-55),
12	the University of Arkansas (78-64) and the University of Washington
13	(61-36) prior to the title win over Columbia University of the Ivy
14	League (66–59); and
15	WHEREAS, Taiyanna Jackson was named the 2023 WNIT Most
16	Valuable Player; and
17	WHEREAS, Taiyanna Jackson was joined on the WNIT All-Tournament
18	team by her fellow Jayhawk Zakiyah Franklin, along with Kaitlyn
19	Davis, Dalayah Daniels, Allison Day and Abbey Hsu; and
20	WHEREAS, The Jayhawks were represented on the 2022-2023 All-Big
21	12 women's basketball team by the senior trio of Taiyanna Jackson,
22	Zakiyah Franklin and Holly Kersgieter. The honors featured Taiyanna
23	Jackson and Zakiyah Franklin as All-Big 12 First Team selections,
24	Holly Kersgieter as an All-Big 12 honorable mention and Taiyanna
25	Jackson as a member of the Big 12 All-Defensive Team. Taiyanna
26	Jackson was a unanimous selection for both honors; and
27	WHEREAS, Brandon Schneider completed his eighth season at the helm
28	of the Kansas women's basketball program. Coach Schneider was the
29	2022 Big 12 Coach of the Year. Earlier in his career, Coach Schneider
30	had a highly successful 12-year stint at Emporia State, where he
31	guided the Lady Hornets to the 2010 NCAA Division II National
32	Championship; and
33	WHEREAS, Thanks to the Jayhawks' strong performance during the
34	regular season and the hard work of the athletic department, the
35	Jayhawks were selected to play all six of their WNIT games in historic
36	Allen Fieldhouse, including the championship game in front of 11,701

## SR 1724

- fans, the largest crowd at Allen Fieldhouse for a women's basketball
   game since 2009: Now, therefore,
- Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate
  and commend the University of Kansas women's basketball team for
  an outstanding season and winning the WNIT Championship; and
- *Be it further resolved:* That we recognize head coach Brandon Schneider,
  associate coach Terry Nooner, assistant coach Morgan Paige, assistant
  coach Karyla Middlebrook, athletic director Travis Goff, deputy
  athletic director and senior woman administrator Nicole Corcoran,
  University of Kansas chancellor Doug Girod and every athlete and
  member of the team for a successful 2022–2023 season; and
- Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send three
   enrolled copies of this resolution to University of Kansas Athletic
   Director Travis Goff, one enrolled copy each to Senators Erickson,
   Francisco, Masterson and Sykes.
- 16