SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1736

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the National Conference of State Legislatures on its 50th anniversary in 2025.

WHEREAS, The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) was founded in 1975 and has evolved during the past half-century to become the premier organization solely dedicated to serving state and territorial legislators and legislative staff; and

WHEREAS, NCSL was created from the merger of three organizations that served or represented state legislatures and shared the belief that legislative service is one of democracy's worthiest pursuits; and

WHEREAS, NCSL is a bipartisan organization with three objectives, namely, to advance the effectiveness, independence and integrity of state legislatures, to foster interstate communication and cooperation and to ensure that states have a strong, cohesive voice in the federal system; and

WHEREAS, Our nation's state legislatures are America's laboratories of democracy and have continually shown that they are the bodies to tackle emerging challenges and state legislatures are where people from diverse backgrounds, representing diverse communities, can come together and find a common ground; and

WHEREAS, NCSL has facilitated the exchange of ideas, provided critical research and information and encouraged a rigorous review of complex issues confronting our communities, states and nation; and

WHEREAS, NCSL strives to strengthen the bonds between America's state legislatures and the international community: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the National Conference of State Legislatures on its 50th anniversary in 2025; and

Be it further resolved: That we recognize and commend the National Conference of State Legislatures for their superb leadership and commitment to the legislative institution; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Bowers.

Senate Resolution No. 1736 was sponsored by Senators Bowers, Alley, Baumgardner, Billinger, Blasi, Dietrich, Fagg, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Gossage, Haley, Holscher, Kerschen, Kloos, Masterson, McGinn, Petersen, Pettey, Reddi, Ryckman, Straub, Sykes, Thompson and Wilborn.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.