SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1743

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the award-winning educators of the Milken Educator Awards Program and the Kansas Horizon Award Program.

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards Program, established by the Milken Family Foundation, provides recognition and financial awards to elementary and secondary school teachers, principals, and other educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education; and

WHEREAS, Alex Lahasky, an educator at Blue Valley West High School in Blue Valley USD 229, and Matthew Mayeske, an educator at Gardner Edgerton High School in Gardner USD 231, have been selected as the Kansas recipients of the 2023 Milken Educator Awards; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and Capitol Federal, allows school districts across the state to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher who have successfully completed their first year teaching and are identified and recognized as teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, Currently in its 24th year, the Kansas Horizon Award Program has selected recipients representing elementary and secondary classrooms from across the state, and they are from Region 1: Braiden Allen, Haven Grade School, Haven USD 312; Marlene Barajas, Dodge City Middle School, Dodge City USD 443; Jami Dryden, Fort Larned Elementary School, Fort Larned USD 495; Zachariah Harvey, Oskaloosa High School, Oskaloosa USD 341; Alexis Hattabaugh, Canton Galva Elementary School, Canton Galva USD 419; Jenna Kimble, Union Valley Elementary School, Buhler USD 313; Ashlyn Kuhlmann, Manhattan High School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Ashley Sharbutt, Hutchinson Middle School, Hutchinson USD 308; from Region 2: Michelle Barnes, Woodlawn Elementary School, Lawrence USD 497; Blair Conley, Riverside Elementary School, Emporia USD 253; Sarah Cormier, Jackson Heights High School, Jackson Heights USD 335; Erica Harper, Atchison Co. Elementary School, Atchison USD 377; Jacoby Johnson, Prairie View High School, Prairie View USD 362; Allison Jones, Emporia Middle School, Emporia USD 253; Leslie McCaffrey, Williams Science and Fine Arts Magnet, Topeka USD 501; Jodee Nickell, Humboldt High School, Humboldt USD 258; from Region 3: Garrett Bates, Paola Middle School, Paola USD 368; Janelle Craig, Olathe West High School, Olathe USD 233; Larry Gazaway, Broadmoor Elementary School, Louisburg USD 416; Richard Gutierrez, Turner Elementary School, Turner USD 202; Brennan Mills, Indian Woods Middle School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Elizabeth Palmer, Rosehill Elementary School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Jonas Pippett, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231; Taylor Flaming, Starside Elementary School, De Soto USD 232; from Region 4: Drew Carney, El Dorado Middle School, El Dorado USD 490; Ivy Daugherty, Maize South Middle School, Maize USD 266; Shae Enegren, Oak Street Elementary School, Goddard USD 265; Makinsey Farber, Prairie Elementary School, Haysville USD 261; Morgan Kaiser, Valley Center High School, Valley Center USD 262; Haley Miller, Maize South Elementary School, Maize USD 266; Brianna Oglesby, Prairie Creek Elementary School, Andover USD 385; and Elizabeth Toribio, Eisenhower Middle School, Goddard USD 265: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the award-winning educators of the Milken Educator Awards Program and the Kansas Horizon Award Program; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 35 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education, Dr. Randy Watson, for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored.

Senate Resolution No. 1743 was sponsored by Senator Brenda Dietrich.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.