## 2023 Kansas Statutes

- **13-13a04.** Board of regents; composition; appointment; qualifications; resignations; vacancies; boundaries of certain member districts. (a) (1) The board of regents of a municipal university that has a taxing district that includes only territory lying within the corporate limits of the city where the university is located shall consist of nine members as follows:
- (A) Four members shall be appointed by the mayor with the approval of the governing body of the city in which the university is located and shall hold office as provided in K.S.A. 13-13a05, and amendments thereto. Members appointed under this provision shall be residents of the city in which the university is located and shall include one from each of the three member districts established under subsection (c) and one from the city at large.
- (B) Three members shall be appointed by the governor and shall hold office as provided in K.S.A. 13-13a06, and amendments thereto. Members appointed under this provision shall be residents of the state.
- (C) One member shall be the mayor of the city in which the university is located or another member of the governing body of the city who is selected by the mayor.
- (D) One member shall be a member of the state board of regents selected by the state board at its regular meeting in September of each year to serve as a member of the board of regents of the municipal university for the ensuing year.
- (2) Resignations from the board of regents of the municipal university shall be made to the chairperson of the board. The chairperson shall report any vacancy occurring in the board to the authority that appointed the member whose position is vacant. All vacancies shall be filled by the authority that appointed the member whose position is vacant, and the appointed successor shall hold office for the remainder of the unexpired term and until a successor is appointed and qualified.
- (b) (1) The board of regents of a municipal university that has a taxing district for retailers' sales tax purposes that includes the entire territory of the county where the university is located shall consist of nine members as follows:
- (A) Three members shall be appointed by the mayor with the approval of the governing body of the city in which the university is located and shall hold office as provided in K.S.A. 13-13a05, and amendments thereto. Members appointed under this provision shall be residents of the city in which the university is located and shall include one from each of the three member districts established under subsection (c).
- (B) Three members shall be appointed by the governor and shall hold office as provided in K.S.A. 13-13a06, and amendments thereto. The members appointed under this provision shall be residents of the state.
- (C) One member shall be appointed by the board of county commissioners of the county in which the university is located and shall hold office as provided in K.S.A. 13-13a06, and amendments thereto. The member appointed under this provision shall be a resident of the county but shall reside outside the city in which the university is located.
- (D) One member shall be the mayor of the city in which the university is located or another member of the governing body of the city who is selected by the mayor.
- (E) One member shall be a member of the state board of regents selected by the state board at its regular meeting in September of each year to serve as a member of the board of regents of the municipal university for the ensuing year.
- (2) Resignations from the board of regents of the municipal university shall be made to the chairperson of the board. The chairperson shall report any vacancy occurring in the board to the authority that appointed the member whose position is vacant. All vacancies shall be filled by the authority that appointed the member whose position is vacant, and the appointed successor shall hold office for the remainder of the unexpired term and until a successor is appointed and qualified.
- (c) The boundaries for the three member districts described in subparagraphs (a)(1) (A) and (b)(1)(A) shall be as follows:
- (1) District one shall consist of city council districts two, three and four of the city in which the university is located;
- (2) district two shall consist of city council districts one, five and six of the city in

which the university is located; and

(3) district three shall consist of city council districts seven, eight and nine of the city in which the university is located.

History: L. 1925, ch. 111, § 4; L. 1961, ch. 86, § 1; L. 1965, ch. 420, § 18; L. 1976, ch. 87, § 4; L. 1981, ch. 83, § 2; L. 1982, ch. 347, § 9; L. 1986, ch. 82, § 3; L. 1999, ch. 88, § 3; L. 2023, ch. 6, § 1; July 1.