Approved:	02/15/11
	Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Mark Taddiken at 8:30 a.m. on February 8, 2011, in Room 159-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:

Tamera Lawrence, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Jason Thompson, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Heather O'Hara, Kansas Legislative Research Department Laura Younker, Kansas Legislative Research Department Judy Seitz, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:

Dale Rodman, Secretary, Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA)

Others attending:

See attached list.

Dale Rodman appeared before the Committee with regard to his appointment as Secretary, Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA) (<u>Attachment 1</u>). Mr. Rodman introduced his wife and members of his team from the KDA: Chris Wilson; Ginger Patterson, Jim Riemann, Heath Kohl and Jackie McClasky. He made some statements (<u>Attachment 2</u>) regarding his appointment and then took questions from the Committee.

Senator Teichman moved to recommend favorably the appointment of Dale Rodman to the position of Secretary, Kansas Department of Agriculture. The motion was seconded by Senator Abrams. Motion carried.

Senator Ostmeyer made a motion to approve the minutes of the January 18, 19 and 25 meeting. Motion was seconded by Senator Teichman. Motion carried.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 9, 2011.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:15 a.m.