Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Aug. 14, 2019
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

2012 Statute



Prev Article 6. - CONSUMER PROTECTIONNext


50-6,112c. Same; suspension or revocation. (a) The board of county commissioners or the governing body of any city, upon five days notice to the persons holding a registration, may suspend the scrap metal dealer's registration for up to 30 days for any one of the following reasons:

(1) The registrant has been convicted of violating any of the provisions of K.S.A. 50-6,109 et seq., and amendments thereto, or any similar ordinance, resolution or rules or regulations made by the board or the city, as the case may be;

(2) the employment or continuation in employment of a person if the registered scrap metal dealer knows such person has, within the 24 months prior to the notice of suspension or revocation action, been convicted of violating any of the provisions of K.S.A. 50-6,109 et seq., and amendments thereto, or the laws of another state comparable to such provisions, or any city or county ordinance or resolution, or regulation controlling scrap metal sale or purchase in Kansas or any other state; or

(3) permitting any criminal activity under the Kansas criminal code, or similar ordinance, resolution or rules or regulations made by the board or city, as the case may be, in or upon the registrant's place of business.

(b) The board of county commissioners or the governing body of any city may revoke the registration of a scrap metal dealer who has had its registration suspended three or more times within a 24-month period.

(c) The board of county commissioners or the governing body of any city, upon five days' notice to the person holding the registration, shall revoke or suspend the registration for any one of the following reasons:

(1) The registrant has fraudulently registered by knowingly giving materially false information on the registration form;

(2) the registrant has become ineligible to obtain a registration under this act;

(3) the nonpayment of any registration fees after receiving written notice that such registration fees are more than 30 days past due; or

(4) within 20 days after the order of the board denying, revoking or suspending any registration, the registrant may appeal to the district court and the district court shall proceed to hear such appeal as though the court had original jurisdiction of the matter. Upon request by the registrant, the district court may enjoin the revocation or suspension of a registration until final disposition of any action brought under this act.

(d) Any action brought under subsections (a), (b) or (c) shall be brought individually against a single registrant's site and not against any other scrap metal sites or locations registered by the same individual, company or business entity.

History: L. 2011, ch. 86, § 3; July 1.



Prev Article 6. - CONSUMER PROTECTIONNext
2019. Powered by KLISS. Rendered: 2019-08-14T21:49:55. Head Rev No: 345400