SENATE RESOLUTION No.1830

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the trailblazer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science.

WHEREAS, The Legislature of the state of Kansas enacted legislation in 2006 authorizing the establishment of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science to promote mathematics and science education, increase retention of intellectual capital and promote economic development; and

WHEREAS, The Legislature of the state of Kansas approved five years of funding for the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science in 2008; and

WHEREAS, Fort Hays State University is a forward-thinking liberal and applied arts university and is recognized internationally for offering more than 60 degrees in a technology-rich environment. Fort Hays State University aggressively seeks innovative solutions to meet the educational needs of Kansans and enhance the economic future of the state; and

WHEREAS, The State Board of Regents selected Fort Hays State University as the site to host the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science in 2007; and

WHEREAS, Fort Hays State University established the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science allowing Kansas to become the sixteenth state in the country with an academic early entry to college program offering a unique residential learning experience for high-achieving high school juniors and seniors who are academically talented in science and mathematics; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science provides a unique hands-on rigorous research environment with doctoral level faculty that focuses on academics, research, leadership development and civic engagement allowing Fort Hays State University to cultivate future citizen-leaders; and

WHEREAS, Students who graduate from the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science will receive a high school diploma and 68 hours of college credit; and

WHEREAS, The trailblazer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science will graduate in 2012; and

WHEREAS, The members of the trailblazer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science who will graduate in 2012 are: Justin Arnspiger, Ashland; Peter Betzen, Parsons; Rachel Bieniecki, Tonganoxie; Krysten Brake, Kinsley; Bria Carder, Eudora; Janae Carter, Andover; Jonathan Folkerts, Hays; Kaylin Hawman, WaKeeney; Clint Herrmann, Sabetha; Chance Kahle, Wamego; Taylor Kane, Scott City; Abbey Killinger, Topeka; Soo Bum Kim, Dukso-ri, Wabu-eub, Republic of Korea; Alexander Lee, Lansing; Nyasha Maforo, Winfield; Manvitha Marni, Leawood; Aleta Martin, Topeka; Alondra Meraz, Hugoton; Cole Mosier, Holton; Rachel Schmidt, Atchison; Kara Schnake, Augusta; Logan Smith, Richfield; Elsie Suhr, Sabetha; and Shaley White, Leoti: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the trailblazer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science as they approach graduation and wish them continued success in their academic and personal pursuits and encourage them to use their significant gifts to improve the future of their home state; and

Be it further resolved: That we express gratitude to the educators and support staff at the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science who, through their dedication and commitment to excellence in education in the fields of mathematics and science, have brought this program to fruition through the success of the trailblazer class. The efforts of the educators and support staff of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Sciences are helping to forge the future for the state of Kansas: and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send two enrolled copies of this resolution, one each to Ronald Keller, Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science, and to Dr. Edward Hammond, President, Fort Hays State University, plus 30 copies to Debra Prideaux, Executive Director Alumni and Governmental Relations, Fort Hays State University.

Senate Resolution No. 1830 was sponsored by Senators A. Schmidt, Morris, Abrams, Holland, Kelly, Kultala, Masterson, Ostmeyer, Pyle, V. Schmidt, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, and Vratil.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.