SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1863

A Resolution congratulating and commending the Wichita State University Shocker Men's Basketball Team for winning the 2011 National Invitation Tournament.

WHEREAS, The Wichita State University (WSU) Shockers won the 2011 Men's National Invitation Tournament (NIT) Championship on March 31, 2011, in New York City; and

WHEREAS, Wichita State advanced to the NIT Championship with five straight wins in the tournament, beating the University of Nebraska, Virginia Tech University, College of Charleston, Washington State University and finally the University of Alabama in the championship game; and

WHEREAS, Graham Hatch was named the NIT Most Outstanding Player and a member of the All-Tournament Team while Garrett Stutz also was named to the All-Tournament Team; and

WHEREAS, Wichita State and Head Coach Gregg Marshall were not only successful on the court but in the classroom as well, with Graham Hatch and Garrett Stutz both named to the 2011 Missouri Valley Conference (MVC) Scholar-Athlete first-team and honorable mention-team, respectively; and

WHEREAS, Wichita State tied the 1982-1983 WSU team for Missouri Valley Conference road wins as that team was also 8-1 on the road in the MVC; and

WHEREAS, Wichita State set a school record with 29 victories in a season; and

WHEREAS, J.T. Durley became WSU's 42nd First Team All-Missouri Valley Conference selection and was third in Player of the Year voting; junior guard Toure' Murry was named to the second-team and Ben Smith was named recipient of the "Sixth Man Award"; Smith and junior center Garrett Stutz both received Missouri Valley Conference All-Bench Team recognition; while junior guard David Kyles was named to the Missouri Valley Conference Most-Improved Team; and

WHEREAS, Wichita State was chosen the Missouri Valley Conference Army National Guard Defensive Team of the Year; and

WHEREAS, J.T. Durley and Toure' Murry became the 39th and 40th Shockers to reach 1,000 points for their careers in 2011; and

WHEREAS, Nine Wichita State men's basketball players were named to the Fall 2010 WSU Athletic Director's honor roll: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Wichita State University Shockers, Head Coach Gregg Marshall, Athletic Director Eric Sexton and WSU President Don Beggs on a successful Shocker men's basketball program, and do hereby congratulate each member of the team on behalf of the citizens of Kansas for an exemplary season: Gabe Blair, Derek Brown, J.T. Durley, Aaron Ellis, Jerome Hamilton, Graham Hatch, Trey Jones, David Kyles, Toure' Murry, Ehimen Orukpe, Joe Ragland, Tyler Richardson, Ben Smith, Garrett Stutz, Randall Vautravers, Josh Walker and Demetric Williams; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 25 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Carolyn McGinn.

Senate Resolution No. 1863 was sponsored by Senators McGinn, Abrams, Apple, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huntington, Kelly, Kelsey, King, Kultala, Lee, Longbine, Love, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, Merrick, Morris, Olson, Ostmeyer, Owens, Petersen, Pyle, Reitz, A. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.