SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1837

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Kansas State Firefighter's Association on their 125th Anniversary.

WHEREAS, On August 13, 1887, a group of Kansas fire service leaders met at Minneapolis, Kansas and organized the Kansas State Firemen's Association for the benefit of present and future Kansas firefighters; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Firemen's Association eventually changed its name to the Kansas State Firefighter's Association; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Firefighter's Association represents 16,000 firefighters, both volunteer and paid, from 660 fire departments across the state; and

WHEREAS, The primary goal of the Kansas State Firefighter's Association is to be dedicated to the safety and education of Kansas firefighters; and

WHEREAS, To provide for the safety of Kansas firefighters, the Kansas State Firefighter's Association provides free training to nearly 1,000 Kansas firefighters each year; and

WHEREAS, Kansas firefighters and their families make significant sacrifices to ensure the protection of Kansas lives and property; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Firefighter's Association has enjoyed a rich and proud heritage, and is the preeminent fire service organization in the state of Kansas: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Kansas State Firefighter's Association and its members be congratulated and commended on the 125th Anniversary of their organization; and

Be it further resolved: That the 13th day of August of 2012 be recognized as Kansas Firefighter Day in honor of the sacrifices made by Kansas firefighters and their families over the past 125 years; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Emler.

Senate Resolution No. 1837 was sponsored by Senators Emler, Abrams, Apple, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huntington, Kelly, Kelsey, King, Kultala, Longbine, Love, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, McGinn, Merrick, Morris, Olson, Ostmeyer, Owens, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, A. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.