Approved: February 8, 2008 Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Vice- Chairman Deena Horst at 9:05 A.M. on January 22, 2008 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Clay Aurand- excused Steve Huebert- excused Bill Otto- excused Marc Rhoades- excused Judith Loganbill- excused

Committee staff present:

Theresa Kiernan, Office of Revisor of Statutes Dianne Rosell, Office of Revisor of Statutes Dale Dennis, Kansas State Department of Education Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Janet Henning, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Jeri Powers, Riverview Elementary School, USD 232, DeSoto Anton F. Ahrens, Topeka High School, USD 501, Topeka Linda I. Johnson, Council Grove Elementary School, USD 417, Morris County Karen Bristow, Garfield Elementary School, USD 402, Augusta Stacie Valdez, Wichita North High School, USD 259, Wichita Erin C. Capettini, Cottonwood Elementary School, USD 368, Paola Shelbie Witte, Fort Riley Middle School, USD 475, Geary County Elaine S. Corder, Spring Hill High School, USD 230, Spring Hill

Kansas Teacher of the Year Team

Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Kansas State Department of Education, introduced the 2008 Kansas Teacher of the Year, Jeri Powers, Riverview Elementary School, USD 232, DeSoto and other members of the team to Committee members. Other members included:

Anton F. Ahrens, Topeka High School, USD 501, Topeka Linda I. Johnson, Council Grove Elementary School, USD 417, Morris County Karen Bristow, Garfield Elementary School, USD 402, Augusta Stacie Valdez, Wichita North High School, USD 259, Wichita Erin C. Capettini, Cottonwood Elementary School, USD 368, Paola Shelbie Witte, Fort Riley Middle School, USD 475, Geary County Elaine S. Corder, Spring Hill High School, USD 230, Spring Hill

Each team member spoke to Committee members of their experiences and various obstacles they had faced in the teaching field. Jeri Powers told Committee members that she is currently a reading specialist for K-5th grades. She stated to Committee members that teaching is an art and that teachers must be able to motivate as well as nurture. Shelbie Witte, an art teacher at Fort Riley Middle School, told Committee members of students in her school who are dealing with a parent(s) sent to Iraq, some of which have been multi-deployments. Other team members spoke of teacher shortages, retirement and incentives, scholarships for teachers, and assistance with tuition

Vice-Chairman Horst gave each of the team members a certificate from the Education Committee.

A question and answer session followed the presentation.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:45 AM. The next meeting is scheduled January 23, 2008.