2012 Kansas Statutes

12-1003. Same; nominations and elections; commissioners in cities between 65,000 and 125,000 and certain cities over 125,000; terms. All nominations and elections in cities adopting this act shall be governed by the laws of the state of Kansas relating to elections in the cities of the first, second and third classes under commission government, insofar as the same are applicable: Provided, however, That in cities of the first class having a population of more than sixty-five thousand (65,000) and less than one hundred twenty-five thousand (125,000), there shall be elected at the April election of 1921 a board of five (5) commissioners, and the two (2) members who shall have received the highest vote at such election shall hold their respective offices for a term of four (4) years each, and the remaining three (3) commissioners elected at said election as aforesaid shall hold their respective offices for a term of two (2) years each, and thereafter two and three commissioners alternately shall be elected in each odd-numbered year and shall hold their respective offices for a term of four (4) years each and until their successors are elected and qualified: Provided further, That in cities of the first class, having a population of more than one hundred twenty-five thousand (125,000) and located in a county having an assessed tangible valuation of more than two hundred and fifty million dollars (\$250,000,000), three (3) commissioners shall be elected at the April election in 1943, at the time and in the manner prescribed by law for the holding of elections in such cities; and at the April election in 1945 two (2) commissioners shall be elected; thereafter, three and two commissioners shall be elected alternately in each odd-numbered year; each of such commissioners when so elected, shall hold office for the term of four (4) years and until a successor shall have been duly elected and qualified; and the two commissioners elected at the April election in 1941 shall be deemed to have been duly elected for the full term of four (4) years and shall hold their office until the April election in 1945, and until their successors shall have been duly elected and qualified.

History: L. 1917, ch. 86, § 3; L. 1921, ch. 93, § 1; R.S. 1923, § 12-1003; L. 1943, ch. 103, § 2; L. 1947, ch. 112, § 1; 1957, ch. 88, § 2; April 16.