2012 Kansas Statutes

12-1005a. Cities of second class of over 8,000, city-manager plan; election of commissioners; term. In all cities of the second class having a population in excess of eight thousand now governed by the city-manager act, where commissioners for such cities have heretofore been selected according to existing law, the city commissioners shall be selected hereafter at regular city elections as follows, to wit: Two commissioners shall be elected to hold office until the next regular city election in 1927, one commissioner shall be elected to hold office until the regular election in 1929, all of which commissioners shall be elected at the next regular city election in 1925, the person receiving the largest number of votes at said election shall thereby be elected to the four-year term of office last above mentioned.

All commissioners elected as provided herein shall hold office until the dates above designated or until their successors shall have been elected and qualified. At the regular election in 1927 one commissioner shall be elected for a two-year term of office and one commissioner shall be elected for a four-year term of office, or until their successors shall have been elected and qualified, the person receiving the largest number of votes at such regular city election to be thereby elected to the four-year term of office. Thereafter, at each ensuing regular city election there shall be elected one city commissioner for a two-year term of office and one city commissioner for a four-year term of office, or until their successors shall have been respectively elected and qualified. At each regular city election as last above provided the person receiving the largest number of votes shall thereby be elected to the four-year term of office as city commissioner.

History: L. 1925, ch. 122, § 1; Feb. 28.