## 2012 Kansas Statutes

**19-5004. Same; board of directors of authority; membership.** If the creation of the Johnson county education research triangle authority is approved as provided by this act, the board of directors of the authority shall consist of seven voting members, who shall be elected officials of Johnson county and who shall be appointed as follows: (a) One member appointed by the governor of the state of Kansas;

(b) one member appointed by the board of regents of the state of Kansas;

(c) one member appointed upon majority vote of the board of commissioners of Johnson county;

(d) one member appointed by the board of trustees of Johnson county community college;

(e) two members appointed by the chancellor of the university of Kansas from nominees submitted by the executive vice chancellor of the university of Kansas medical center and the vice chancellor of the Edwards campus of the university of Kansas, respectively; and

(f) one member appointed by the president of Kansas state university.

Each such member shall have one vote, and shall serve for a maximum of two terms of four years duration each. The board shall select its chairperson by vote of the members. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment. Employees of the university of Kansas, Kansas state university and the university of Kansas medical center shall not be eligible for appointment to the board. All members of the board and any employees of the authority shall submit an annual statement of substantial interests to the secretary of state. Any appointees to the board who lose or resign the elected office upon which such appointee's appointment is based shall vacate such appointee's positions effective as of the date of departure from such elected office. The chancellor of the university of Kansas or the chancellor's designee, the president of Kansas state university or the president's designee, the president of Johnson county community college or the president's designee and the executive vice chancellor of the university of Kansas medical center or the vice chancellor's designee shall serve as ex officio, non-voting members of the board.

History: L. 2007, ch. 158, § 4; July 1.