SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1719

A RESOLUTION recognizing the friendship between the state of Kansas and the nation of Israel, acknowledging Israel's right to defend its borders and people as a sovereign nation and expressing thanks to the state of Israel for its continued help and benefit to the state of Kansas.

WHEREAS, The sovereign Jewish state of Israel declared independence on May 14, 1948, and its right to exist has been affirmed both by the United States of America and the international community according to international law; and

WHEREAS, The state of Kansas affirms Israel's independence, existence, and right to defend its borders as a sovereign state; and

WHEREAS, The state of Kansas establishes and recognizes formal friendship with the state of Israel as a mutually benefiting relationship, and affirms continued cooperation in business and economic dealings with the state of Israel; and

WHEREAS, The state of Israel and Kansas have maintained a significant economically beneficial partnership in trade, Israel having received a significant portion of Kansas exports over the past 17 years; and

WHEREAS, The relationship between Kansas and the state of Israel has already profited the state of Kansas in areas of business and science, strengthening businesses in international sales and scientific innovations: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the state of Kansas recognizes the nation of Israel as a friend, ally and partner, and that continued existence of the state of Israel is supported and affirmed by the state of Kansas, based upon both historical and legal confirmation; and

Be it further resolved: That the friendship between the state of Kansas and the state of Israel is hereby recognized and established; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send two enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Haley.

Senate Resolution No. 1719 was sponsored by Senator David Haley.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.