Approved:	February 5, 2001
11	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Dan Johnson at 3:30 p.m. on January 24, 2001, in Room 423-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present: Raney Gilliland, Legislative Research Department

Gordon Self, Revisor of Statutes Office Kay Scarlett, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Rebecca Reed, Special Assistant to the Secretary, Kansas Department of Agriculture
Jere White, Business Administrator, Kansas Corn Commission and Kansas Soybean Commission
Ken McCauley, Chairman, Kansas Corn Commission
Neil Martin, Chairman, Kansas Soybean Commission
Kevin Lickteig, Business Administrator, Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission
John Ratzlaff, Chairman, Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission
David Frey, Business Administrator, Kansas Wheat Commission

Others attending: See attached list

Minutes of the January 17 meeting were distributed. Chairman Johnson asked members to notify the committee secretary of any corrections or additions prior to 5:00 p.m., January 31, or they will be considered approved as presented.

Copies of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's proposed guidelines affecting confined animal feeding operations (CAFOs) were distributed. (<u>Attachment 1</u>)

Randy Allen, Kansas Association of Counties, requested a committee bill to update and strengthen the Kansas Noxious Weed Law. Representative Feuerborn moved to introduce this legislation as a committee bill. Seconded by Representative Dahl, the motion carried.

Rebecca Reed, Special Assistant to the Secretary, Kansas Department of Agriculture, introduced the business administrators of the four Kansas grain commodity commissions privatized by the 2000 Legislature - Kansas Corn Commission, Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission, Kansas Soybean Commission, and the Kansas Wheat Commission. Copies of the annual reports, bylaws and operating procedures, roles and responsibilities, budgets, and financial information of the commissions can be obtained from the Kansas Department of Agriculture or the commissions.

Ken McCauley, Chairman, Kansas Corn Commission (<u>Attachment 2</u>); John Ratzlaff, Chairman, Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission; Neil Martin, Chairman, Kansas Soybean Commission (<u>Attachment 3</u>); and David Frey, Administrator, Kansas Wheat Commission, presented their respective annual reports, outlined their goals and objectives, highlighted major projects, and reviewed their individual budget and financial information. They all support the structure change and believe that it will allow their commissions to operate more efficiently and effectively.

The meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for January 29, 2001.