Approved: March 7, 2001

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE K-12 EDUCATION COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Ralph Tanner at 9:00 a.m. on February 15, 2001 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Committee staff present: Ben Barrett, Legislative Research

Avis Swartzman, Revisor of Statutes Ann Deitcher, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Peg Dunlap, Kansas National Education Association

The Chair introduced Senator Dwayne Umbarger, Chairman of the Senate Education Committee who, along with members of his Committee were present.

Dale Dennis then introduced the 2000 Kansas Recipients of the Milken Family Foundation National Educators Award.

Speaking briefly of their backgrounds in teaching were: Alice Bertels of the State Street Elementary School in Topeka; Nancy Harman of the Kathryn O'Loughlin McCarthy Elementary School in Hays and Jeffery McAdoo of the Quail Run Elementary School in Lawrence. Others introduced were former recipients of the Milken Award who were in the audience.

Dale Dennis explained the Milken award to new Committee members.

HB 2217 - School districts, transportation of nonresident pupils.

The motion was made by Representative Lloyd and seconded by Representative Horst that **HB 2217** be moved favorably for passage. The Chair, being in doubt of the vote, asked for a show of hands. The motion carried.

Representative Tomlinson wished to be recorded as a nay vote.

Peg Dunlap appeared as a proponent of both HB 2288 and HB 2335. (Attachment 1).

Chairman Tanner spoke to the Committee in support of <u>HB 2288</u>. (Attachment 2). He also provided copies of a Minority Report on an Action Plan for Kansas Public Education in the 21st Century. (Attachment 2).

Representative Kenny Wilk, Chairman of the House Appropriations Committee, spoke in support of <u>HB</u> <u>2288</u> and <u>HB 2335.</u> (Attachment 4.)

The meeting was adjourned at 10:55 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, February 16, 2001.