## MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION K-12.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Ralph Tanner at 9:00 a.m. on January 22, 2002 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

Committee staff present:

Ben Barrett, Legislative Research Department Carolyn Rampey, Legislative Research Department Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes Ann Deitcher, Committee Secretary

Kansas Department of Education Deputy Commission Dale Dennis spoke to the Committee of the valuable contribution made by teachers. (<u>Attachment 1</u>).

He then introduced the first of the 2002 Kansas Teacher of the Year Finalists, Tracy Taylor Callard of Horace Mann Elementary Foreign Language Magnet School, Wichita. Ms. Callard is also a 2002 National Teacher Finalist.

The following finalists were also presented: Susan K. Hagedorn, Hanover Public School, Hanover; Linda L. Nelson, Salina Central High School; Patricia A. Lira, Scranton Attendance Center, Scranton; Barbara L. Chamberlain, Seaman High School, Topeka; Linda McPherson, Mize Elementary School, Shawnee; Sarah Pike, Turner Middle School, Kansas City; and Mark A. Diskin, Maize High School, Maize.

Each spoke of the challenges and rewards of their profession and answered various questions of the Committee.

<u>Representative Ostmeyer moved for the introduction of a bill that would enable merging school districts</u> to have available all funds from those districts. The motion was seconded by Representative Mason and passed on a voice vote.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for January 22, 2002.