Approved: February 22, 2002

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION K-12.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Ralph Tanner at 9:30 a.m. on February 4, 2002 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

Committee staff present: Ben Barrett, Legislative Research Department

Carolyn Rampey, Legislative Research Department

Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes Ann Deitcher, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Andy Tompkins, Commissioner of Education

Commissioner Tompkins explained the Sample Assessment for Kansas while members of his staff passed out copies of fact sheets explaining "Take the Test Day, 2002". (Attachment 1).

The Committee, Staff and interested persons in the audience took the test in reading, science, mathematics and social studies. After everyone graded their own test there was a question and answer session. (Attachments 2 and 3).

A motion was made by Representative Mason and seconded by Representative Lloyd to introduce a bill that would provide that each county with more than one school district be designated a county district. This would exclude both Johnson and Douglas counties. The motion carried on a voice vote.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:45. The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, February 5, 2002.