MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Joann Freeborn at 3:30 p.m. on March 26, 2002 in Room 231-N of the Capitol.

All members were present ex	cept: Representative Jeff Peterson - excused
Committee staff present:	Raney Gilliland, Kansas Legislative Research Department Mary Torrence, Revisor of Statute's Office Mary Ann Graham, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Others attending: See Attached Sheet

Chairperson Joann Freeborn called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. She announced that minutes for January 22 and 24, February 14, and March 7 that were distributed to committee members on March 21 will be considered approved unless there are objections.

Rep. Sharon Schwartz made a motion the minutes be approved. Rep. Vaughn Flora seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The Chairperson opened **HB3002** for discussion and possible action.

HB3002: Procedures required for municipalities to discontinue use of existing private solid waste services providers.

Chairman of the Sub-Committee on <u>HB3002</u>, Rep. Don Myers was recognized. He stated that the Sub-Committee had met twice, the first meeting he suggested that interested parties should get together and work on language that would be agreeable to both proponents and opponents. The Sub-Committee met again today. Two amendments were submitted by the industry and one which Chairman Myers had Mary Torrence, Revisor of Statutes, draw up. The date in subsection (b) was changed to April 1, 2002 from January 1, 2002 and the date in subsection (c) to January 13, 2003 from January 13, 2004.

Mary Torrence, Revisor of Statutes, reviewed the proposed <u>Substitute for HB3002</u>, and explained the changes that had been made. Discussion followed.

Rep. Don Myers made a motion to adopt language in **Substitute for HB3002**. Rep. Tom Sloan seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Rep. Tom Sloan made a motion the bill be passed favorably. Rep. Don Myers seconded the motion. Motion carried. The motion passed 12 to 3. Rep. Bill Light voted no. Rep. Sharon Schwartz voted no. Rep. Ted Powers voted no.

The meeting adjourned at 4:05 p.m. The next meeting has not been scheduled.