Approved: April 12, 2002

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Michael R. O'Neal at 6:00 p.m. on January 22, 2002 in Room 313--S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Representative Carl Krehbiel - Excused

Committee staff present:

Mary Galligan, Department of Legislative Research Kathie Sparks, Department of Revisor of Statutes Cindy O'Neal, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Dr. Joe Aistrup, Fort Hays State University
Leslie Kaufman, Farm Bureau
Steve Pickman, President of the Atchinson Chamber of Commerce
Alan Revies, Atchinson
John Kujawa, Atchinson Casing Corporation
Lynda Wilkinson, Southeast Kansas Inc.
Billy McCray, Wichita
Rob Lessen, Pittsburg Chamber of Commerce

Information provided by staff for the committee:

Reverend Wanda McDaniels

- o Press Release for the public hearing (<u>Attachment 1</u>)
- o Set of State House 4 maps (<u>Attachment 2</u>)
- o Technical Report on State House 4 (Attachment 3)
- o House & Senate calendars (Attachment 4)
- o Committee Guidelines (Attachment 5)
- o Set of maps showing the deviation from ideal district population (Attachment 6)

Dr. Joe Aistrup, Fort Hays State University, express his concerns about the map eliminating rural districts and splitting communities of interest. He requested that the map be redrawn to maximize the five percent variance guideline, so that rural districts would have a population of 20,400 and urban districts would have a 22, 400 population. He was opposed to the splitting of the City of Hays, especially when other communities were not split. (Attachment 7)

Leslie Kaufman, Farm Bureau, stated that they would not endorse any map but would prefer one that would keep as many rural legislators as possible. She raised concerns that are important to rural Kansans. Each Representative would have a larger geographic area and therefore would have further to travel. (Attachment 8)

Steve Pickman, President of the Atchinson Chamber of Commerce, stated that he was concerned with placing the first precinct in the City of Atchinson with the Citys of Leavenworth and Lansing because it would split up neighborhoods and drive a wedge into the industrial base. (Attachment 9)

Alan Revies, Atchinson, expressed his concern about not getting the representation they would need since Leavenworth & Lansing would be a "bigger" part of the district than the first precinct in Atchinson. (Attachment 10)

John Kujawa, Atchinson Casing Corporation, believes that the courts would prefer that counties, cities and precincts not be divided except when absolutely necessary. (<u>Attachment 11</u>)

Lynda Wilkinson, Southeast Kansas Inc., commented on the concerns with making sure that they receive good representation due to the new highway program and the possibility of there being cuts. They are trying to encourage population growth and employment and don't believe that it is time to be reducing their representation. (Attachment 12)

Billy McCray, Wichita, suggested extending the 89th District east of Hillside toward Olive & Woodlawn

CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE at 3:30 p.m. on January 22, 2002 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

streets and make 53rd Street at Hydraulic the Northwest boundary of the district, because the current map could violate the 1965 Voting Rights Act. (Attachment 13)

Rob Lessen, Pittsburg Chamber of Commerce, read Brian Jones testimony, which opposed the map because it would disenfranchise the city of Pittsburg and residents would lose their stake in state government. (Attachment 14)

Reverend Wanda McDaniels, was upset with the proposed map because it dilutes the voting power of minority representation in Kansas.

The additional attachments were distributed at the meeting:

- o E-mails (Attachment 15)
- o Resolutions from the Cities of Arma & Cherokee; and Crawford County (Attachment 16)
- o Pawnee County Economic Development Commission (Attachment 17)
- o Ellis County Clerk/Election Office (Attachment 18)
- o Unified School Districts -Crawford-Neosho Counties (Attachment 19)
- o Fort Hays State University (Attachment 20)
- o City of Coffeyville (Attachment 21)
- o The Pelican Press, Larned (Attachment 22)
- o City of Hays (Attachment 23)
- o Midwest Grain Products, Inc. (Attachment 24)
- o Nemaha County Commissioners (Attachment 25)
- o Atchinson Casting (Attachment 26)
- o Ronald Thomas, Baxter Springs (Attachment 27)
- o Allen Reavis, Atchinson (Attachment 28)
- o Susie Crockett-Spoon, Wichita (Attachment 29)
- o Norman Maier, Edwardsville (Attachment 30)
- o John Peters, Edwardsville (Attachment 31)
- o John Sower, Edwardsville (Attachment 32)
- o Senator Barone (Attachment 33)

The committee meeting adjourned at 7:50 p.m.