Approved: March 14, 2002

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chairperson Doug Mays at 7:30 a.m. on February 5, 2002 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Representative Lisa Benlon - Excused Representative Michael O'Neal - Excused Representative Jeff Peterson - Excused Representative Bob Tomlinson - Excused Representative Jean Vickrey

Committee staff present:

Mary Galligan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department Cindy O'Neal, Committee Secretary

Vice Chairperson Mays announced that no action would be taken today. He informed the Committee that the Republicans and Democrats have been working together for the past two weeks on a bi-partisan agreement. The map before the Committee is called Ad Astra (Attachment 1), however, it will probably not be the final map as agreements have not been finalized in Northeast Kansas and Western Kansas.

The committee received a brief explanation from Duane Simpson of major changes in the proposed map Ad Astra.

- ► In Franklin County a seat has been collapsed in order to allow Southeastern Kansas to retain all its seats
- Minor changes have been made in Johnson & Shawnee counties and the City of Atchinson is whole
- The City of Hays is further split 40/60 which allows Representative McClure to have a district
- Representatives Peterson and Neufeld will share a collapsed district

Representative Aurand explained that in two of the four collapsed districts only two representatives will be running against each other. The other two are due to retirements.

Representative Findley commented that he looks forward to continuing discussion on a workable map.

Vice Chairperson Mays agreed in that a map friendly to both sides needs to be made as to avoid a floor fight.

The committee meeting adjourned at 8:00 a.m. The next meeting was scheduled for February 6, 2002.