Approved: March 14, 2002

## MINUTES OF THE HOUSE REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Michael R. O'Neal at 7:30 a..m. on February 6, 2002 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

## Committee staff present:

Mary Galligan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department Mary Ann Torrence, Revisor of Statutes Office Cindy O'Neal, Committee Secretary

Chairman O'Neal announced that an agreement was reached between Republicans and Democrats on the proposed House map, Per Aspera, which has gone through technical review. He reminded the committee that its task was to develop a map that was incumbent friendly to both parties and while it was a difficult process it has been completed.

The Per Aspera map was distributed to the committee along with a population summary report, and summary of charteristics of the proposed map. (Attachment 1)

Chairman O'Neal and Ranking Minority Member Findley noted that one township needs to be changed, by consensus, that didn't get changed last night and should be done by a floor amendment.

Duane Simpson informed the committee of areas in which in the Per Aspera map that were different from the Ad Aspera map presented on February 5.

- ► The name Per Aspera which means "through difficulties".
- Sedgwick County has one change. Representative Thimesch's district went back to what he had before.
- Northeast changes have Representatives Henry & Larkin in the same district; the City of Atchison being whole.
- Pottawatomtie County is whole.
- Manhattan has two districts, one which is mostly the city and the other mostly rural.
- Junction City is whole.
- Representatives Johnson & McClure are in the same district making Russell, Osborne & Rooks counties whole.
- Ellis County is split, giving Representative Phelps all of the City of Hays and the south side of the county with Representative Johnson having everything north of Hays.
- ► There are a couple of changes in Salina.
- Southwest Kansas is as it was in Statehouse 4.

Representative Mays made the motion to adopt the Per Aspera map as a substitute bill and report **Substitute HB 2625** favorably for passage. Representative Findley seconded the motion.

Representative Reardon asked what four districts were going to be collapsed with the proposed map.

Mr. Simpson responded that the incumbent pairings were:

- Henderson/Spangler
- Goering/McKinney
- Johnson/ McClure
- Larkin/Henry

Representative Aurand stated that while many worked very hard on the proposed map, he will be voting not due to his belief that the Ad Astra map was better. In his assessment Ad Astra was better for western Kansas but also it pitted two people who were elected in 2000 against each other, whereas, the proposed map has four elected officials running against each other.

Representative Klein commented that he would be voting for the map but stressed that in the future the redistricting process needs to be more concerned with preserving districts and not incumbents.

## **CONTINUATION SHEET**

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE at 7:30 a.m. on February 6, 2002 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

Representative Edmonds requested that the vote be delayed until tomorrow to give members time to look at the map. Chairman O'Neal responded that 95 percent of the map has been out for several weeks, and the changes proposed today have been presented to members affected. The map will be discussed in caucuses the next couple of days and will be debated on the House floor on February 13.

Chairman O'Neal, Vice Chairperson Mays and Minority Member Findley acknowledged the hard work that everyone did who participated in the process. The map is not perfect but there will never be a perfect map for everyone, therefore, this is the best map that the Committee can achieve.

Representative Mays renewed his motion. The motion carried. Representatives Aurand & Tomlinson requested they be recorded as voting no.

The committee meeting adjourned at 8:10 a.m.