Approved:	
	Date

MINUTES OF THE e-GOVERNMENT COMMITTEE.

The members of the e-Government Committee met in Room 106 of the Landon State Office building at 3:30 p.m on February 1, 2001.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:

Audrey Nogle, Kansas Legislative Research Department Amory Lovin, Kansas Legislative Research Department Robert Chapman, Kansas Legislative Research Department Jeanna Freeman, Temporary Committee Secretary

Don Heiman, Director, Division of Information Systems and Communications, (DISC) welcomed the e-Government Committee members and introduced members of his staff: Joe Hennes, Deputy Director, Bureau of Information Systems; Andy Scharf, Deputy Director, Bureau of Telecommunications; and Morey Sullivan, Public Service Executive.

Mr. Heiman outlined the statewide services of DISC to state agencies, services which include a full array of information technology and telecommunications. He said that the mainframe computer serves 18,000 users and all telecommunications services, handling 650 million instructions per second. A mid-range computer, an IBM AS-400, provides print services for the entire state, including all specialized forms. The Unix data center with its Sun Solaris operating system provides payroll and tax services for all state employees, with daily back-up stored offsite. DISC also operates the state mail system in Topeka. Mr. Heiman stated that DISC maintains its statewide computer and communication services with over 99.9% up-time. Mr. Heiman noted that DISC negotiates special rates for telecommunications services with Southwestern Bell, Sprint, and AT&T.

The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, February 6, 2001, at 3:30 p.m. in the Landon State Office Building, Room 654-S.