MINUTES

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON REDISTRICTING

May 16, 2001

Johnson County Community College, Hugh Speer Board Room

Overland Park, Kansas

Members Present

Senator David Adkins, Chairman

Senator Barbara Allen

Senator David Haley

Senator Anthony Hensley

Senator Ed Pugh

Senator Derek Schmidt

Representative John Ballou

Representative Troy Findley

Representative Doug Mays

Representative Rocky Nichols

Representative Mike O'Neal

Representative Jene Vickrey

Other Legislators in Attendance

Senator John Vratil

Representative John Edmonds

Representative David Huff

Representative Dean Newton

Representative Doug Patterson

Representative Bob Tomlinson

Representative John Toplikar

Conferees

Burdett Loomis, Professor, Political Science, University of Kansas Dolores Furtado, Co-President, League of Women Voters of Johnson County Jean Jones, Citizen Connie Shidler, Johnson County Democratic Party Steve Baru, Workforce Investment Board

Others Attending—See attached guest list.

Staff Attending

Mary Galligan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department Cindy O'Neal, Committee Secretary

Chairman David Adkins called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. He explained the redistricting process and introduced Professor Burdett Loomis who gave the slide presentation (Attachments 1 and 2).

Dolores Furtado, representative of the League of Women Voters of Johnson County, informed the panel that she does not support or oppose any one candidate or political party but supports the principles that should govern any plan adopted by the Legislature (Attachment 3).

Jean Jones submitted to the panel a Congressional District map for the state (<u>Attachment 4</u>) which allows for the readjusted numbers of students and the military. Chairman Adkins informed Ms. Jones that the adjusted numbers only apply to Kansas House and Senate districts, not Congressional ones.

Connie Shidler commented that she read in the *Overland Park Sun* a headline that stated: *Adkins efforts were going to target Congressman Dennis Moore*. In the article, Senator Adkins is quoted as stating that "this is a republican district that should be held by a republican." She reminded Senator Adkins that the constituents not the party should guide the redistricting process. She questioned Senator Adkins, if the Legislature has already made up its mind about the redistricting process, in that it is a political process, why have public meetings.

Senator Adkins responded that the redistricting process is an open and fair process, and that no one can be so naive enough to believe that there is no partisanship involved. He too was offended by the tone of the article which indicated that districts are drawn for a particular person, not for the good of the state.

Steve Baru supports Johnson County and Douglas County remaining in the same district because they draw their workforce from each other.

Written testimony in support of Miami County remaining in the 3rd Congressional District was provided to the panel from Paola Chamber of Commerce (<u>Attachment 5</u>) and the Mayors of Paola, Osawatomie, and Louisburg (<u>Attachment 6</u>).

Senator Anthony Hensley and Representative Troy Findley proposed a Congressional map for the 3rd District (<u>Attachment 7</u>), along with a proposed Congressional map for the state (<u>Attachment 8</u>).

The meeting adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

Prepared by Kathie Sparks