MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON REAPPORTIONMENT.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Senator David Adkins at 3:10 p.m. on March 18, 2002 in Room 235-N of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Mary Galligan, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Mary Ann Torrence, Revisor of Statutes
Bob Nugent, Revisor of Statutes
Mary Blair, Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: None

Others attending:

Copies of Senate Plan 12 map and Senate 2004C map were distributed to the Committee members. (Attachment 1) Discussion followed on these maps.

Chairman Adkins invited all members of the Senate in attendance to participate in Committee discussion. He would like the Committee to come up with a list of items they would like addressed in either map.

Senate Plan 12 map was considered first.

Senator Teichman said her district is now a compact workable district. If Kiowa and Edwards Counties are added to her district that would make it necessary to split Barton County to stay within the allowable population. She would prefer to keep Barton County whole.

The Taddiken, Emler, Kerr, and Brungardt districts were discussed. Abilene would go into the Salina district. Senator Brungardt said he would like this area, because it has common interests.

Senators Goodwin's, Corbin's and Downey's districts were discussed. Senator Corbin said he would prefer moving into the southern half of Greenwood County and the City of Eureka rather than Sedgwick County to pick up required population.

Senator Gooch testified there were spots in the extreme southeast of his district he could do without and keep his population numbers. Senator Hensley said he observed that most of the Wichita districts are heavy in population numbers.

Senator Umbarger said he would like to keep whole Cherokee and Crawford counties, and that Senator Barone's district could go into Bourbon County and Fort Scott. Senator Umbarger would then have Labette, Neosho, parts of Montgomery, Allen, and Bourbon counties.

Chairman Adkins stated that Senator Barnett said that if Anderson County went to District 15, he would like part of Greenwood County to maintain the required population.

Senator Jenkins distributed a map of the 20^{th} District showing the Westboro neighborhood being given back to her. She said she was also speaking for Senator Jackson who agreed to this change. (<u>Attachment 2</u>)

Senator Hensley said the City of Lyndon had been inadvertently split in the vetoed plan, but should be

CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON REAPPORTIONMENT at on March 18, 2002 in Room 235-N of the Capitol.

included wholly in Senator Barnett's district.

Senator Haley said he would like to have a small change made to his district, and that it was agreeable to Senators Gilstrap and Steineger. He will distribute a map showing this suggested change at a later time. (Senator Haley did not separately distribute a map of Wyandotte County districts.)

Senator Vratil said that last week all Johnson County senators were asked to seek a solution for the Johnson County problem. The following was agreed upon: Senator O'Connor wanted to retain the southeast corner of Johnson County and part of the new district in Johnson County as included in the vetoed plan, as she felt there was a community of interest in that area. Senator Jordan agreed to made necessary adjustments. Senator Vratil wanted to have all of Leawood and the southeast part of Overland Park in District 11. Senator Allen wanted to retain more of her current district than she had under **SB 379.**

When trying to set up a subsequent meeting of Johnson County senators to draw a map, Senator Vratil said Senator Jordan informed him that he was instructed by the coalition of 21 senators not to appear at the meeting.

Senator Vratil presented a map that was drawn and a copy of a letter he had sent to Senator Hensley explaining what was proposed for the Johnson County area. (Attachment 3) He explained the changes to the Committee. Committee discussion ensued. Senator Vratil said he did not want to be in the same district with Shane Jones. Senator Haley said he thought no consideration should be given to Shane Jones having a district in which to run. Senator Vratil said Representative Merrick had not requested consideration to be in any specific senate district. Therefore, a district for him had not been considered.

Senator Hensley said he was concerned that Senator Vratil's map split a precinct, and that this should not be done. Senator Vratil responded that the precinct in question will probably be split by the Johnson County Election Commissioner.

Chairman Adkins said he would like to have a Senate plan ready to pass out of Committee by the end of the week.

The meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.