## MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON REAPPORTIONMENT.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Senator David Adkins at 4:35 p.m. on March 20, 2002 in Room 235-N of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present: Mary Galligan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department Mary Best, Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Tim Graham, Special Assistant to Senator Hensley

Others attending:

Senator Hensley reviewed his map. He described boundaries of Shawnee and Douglas Counties on the map he presented.

Chairman Adkins and Senator Lee both expressed their hopes that a reapportionment plan could be reached soon and sent to the Floor of the Senate.

Senator Jenkins said she would like to have the Westboro precincts back, and stated Senator Jackson is agreeable to that.

Tim Graham, Special Assistant to Senator Hensley, reviewed the Sedgwick County proposal on the map. It was stated that the Wichita delegation had not yet agreed on the proposed changes.

Wyandotte County was discussed. Senator Haley said that he and Senator Steineger were content with the map. Senator Hensley complimented Senator Gilstrap on his patience with the redistricting since he was getting 50% new constituents.

Johnson County was discussed. Senator Allen would retain everything she currently has except for one precinct. Leawood would split two precincts.

Hensley said that under his map, the districts that were light in population had the biggest potential to grow in the next ten years.

After continued discussion, Chairman Adkins said that he is looking for conceptual maps and ideas to assist the committee in moving forward.

The meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m.