MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON REAPPORTIONMENT.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Senator David Adkins at 11:35 a.m. on March 26, 2002 in Room 243-N of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present: Mary Galligan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department Mary Ann Torrence, Revisor of Statutes Judy Swanson, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: None

Others attending: See attached guest list

Chairman Adkins reviewed possible modifications to Senator Hensley's plan, Senate Plan 21.

Senator Teichman said she had no problem with the suggestions made in Senate Plan 21 to Senate District 33.

Senator Jenkins said that the modification of swapping three precincts in Senator Jackson district to her district was agreeable to both of them. Senator Schmidt was agreeable to moving Elk and part of Coffey counties into his district, moving Greenwood County out of his district possibly into Senator Barnett's district. Senator Corbin indicated that moving Mulvane into Senator Goodwin's district had been resolved.

The Cherokee County problem concerning Senators Barone and Umbarger, as well as, Johnson County have yet to be resolved.

In Johnson County, Senator Vratil's district was still in question. A suggested Johnson County map was distributed. (Attachment 1) Chairman Adkins said he hoped that the Committee could resolve the redistricting issue by tomorrow.

Senator Lee said Senator Umbarger took three townships from Montgomery County. Senator Huelskamp stated that the Johnson County decision should be made by the Committee of the Whole and the sooner a bill reaches the Senate Floor, the better. Senator Pugh felt it was time to send a map to the Senate.

A packet of maps and reports describing Senate Plan 21, the proposed Senate districts' presented to the Committee last week by Senator Hensley, is attached to the Committee Minutes. (Attachment 2)

The committee meeting adjourned at 11:55.