MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON REAPPORTIONMENT.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Senator David Adkins at 6:10 p.m. on March 27, 2002 in Room 235-N of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Mary Galligan, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Mary Ann Torrence, Revisor of Statutes
Rob Mealy, Redistricting Assistant
Judy Swanson, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: None

Others attending:

Chairman Adkins stated his purpose was to work toward bipartisan support of a reapportionment bill that could be passed out of Committee and sent to the Floor of the Senate as soon as possible.

Rob Mealy, Redistricting Assistant, distributed the latest proposed redistricting map with population reports to the Committee for discussion. (Attachment 1)

Committee discussion of the map included the fact that the Shawnee County issue has been resolved by switching six townships between Senators Jenkins and Jackson. How to split Johnson County was still in question. There were still several small areas being discussed in Sedgwick County. Senator Barone wanted to split Cherokee instead of Bourbon County. A change in Anderson County is still not quite settled.

Chairman Adkins announced that <u>SB 256</u> had been referred to this Committee. Therefore, it can be used as the vehicle for a bill to be sent out of the Committee.

Senator Hensley expressed concern that Districts 13 & 38 were over the ideal population, but are areas of expected population growth. Senator Jenkins suggested that an option would be to make all districts the ideal population if people were displeased with the map.

Chairman Adkins said he would do everything possible to get a proposal to the Committee that they could advance with more than a simple majority.

The meeting adjourned at 6:25 p.m.