MINUTES OF THE HOUSE APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Melvin Neufeld at 9:00 a.m. on February 5, 2004 in Room 514-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representative Bob Bethell- excused Representative Bonnie Sharp- excused Representative Larry Campbell- excused

Committee staff present:

Alan Conroy, Legislative Research J. G. Scott, Legislative Research Amy VanHouse, Legislative Research Julian Efird, Legislative Research Jim Wilson, Revisor of Statutes Mike Corrigan, Revisor of Statutes Nikki Feuerborn, Administrative Analyst Shirley Jepson, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Barry Greis, Project Architect, Statehouse Renovation Project

Others attending:

Representative Merrick moved to introduce legislation concerning management of interest on unclaimed funds with reference to the Kansas Public Employees System and the State General Fund (SGF). The motion was seconded by Representative Minor. Motion carried.

Representative Feuerborn moved to introduce legislation concerning surplus property, capital improvements, memorials around the State Capital and alternate fuel programs. The motion was seconded by Representative Huebert. Motion carried.

Chairman Neufeld introduced Barry Greis, Project Architect for the Statehouse Renovation Project, who presented a brief update on the renovation project. Mr. Greis stated that the project is on schedule with a projected date for completion of the parking lot of April 3, 2004. Responding to questions from the Committee, Mr. Greis indicated that the renovation is within budge at the present time. The underground water problem was anticipated and pumps have been installed to collect the water and dump into the sewer. The top of the parking garage will be waterproofed and covered with 5 to 8 feet of soil.

Mr. Greis led the Committee on a tour of the renovation of the east wing, lower level and parking garage.

Following the tour, the meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m. The next meeting of the Committee will be held on February 6, 2004.

Melvin Neufeld, Chairman