Approved:	January 24, 2003
	Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Dan Johnson at 3:30 p.m. on January 15, 2003, in Room 423-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Committee staff present: Raney Gilliland, Legislative Research Department

Amy VanHouse, Legislative Research Department

Gordon Self, Revisor of Statutes Office Kay Scarlett, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Justin Holstin, Propane Marketers Association of Kansas Chuck Stones, Kansas Bankers Association Chris Tymeson, Department of Wildlife and Parks Rebecca Reed, Department of Agriculture Kevin Lickteig, Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission David Frey, Kansas Wheat Commission Ed Mader, Kansas Soybean Commission

Others attending: See attached list

Chairman Johnson opened the first meeting of the House Agriculture Committee of the 2003 Legislative Session by asking committee members and staff to introduce themselves.

The Chairman welcomed everyone and expressed the hope that the committee would work together in an atmosphere of cooperation on agricultural issues. He made note of budget constraints this year and asked that all proposals requiring additional funding be accompanied by proposed funding recommendations. Committee Rules, as well as Rules for Conferees appearing before the committee, were distributed.

Justin Holstin, Propane Marketers Association of Kansas, requested introduction of a committee bill that would establish a Kansas propane education and research council. Representative Freeborn, seconded by Representative Feuerborn, moved to introduce this proposal as a committee bill. The motion carried.

Chuck Stones, Kansas Bankers Association, requested introduction of a committee bill that would amend the rates of the Kansas agricultural production loan deposit program from "not more than 2%" to "no more than 4% greater than the interest rate on the agricultural production loan deposits, which rate is no more than 2% below the market rate..." "...the interest rate on agricultural production loans made between the effective date of this amendment and July 1, 2003, will be 4%..." (Attachment 1) Representative Schwartz, seconded by Representative Ostmeyer, moved to introduce this proposal as a committee bill. The motion carried.

CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE at 3:30 p.m. on January 15, 2003, in Room 423-S of the Capitol.

Chris Tymeson, Department of Wildlife and Parks, requested introduction of a committee bill concerning the management and control of prairie dogs. Representative Feuerborn, seconded by Representative Light, moved to introduce this proposal as a committee bill. The motion carried.

Representative Schwartz moved to introduce a resolution requesting the federal government to provide drought disaster relief for the State of Kansas. Seconded by Representative Ostmeyer, the motion carried.

Representative Ostmeyer requested introduction of a committee bill that would discontinue the state meat and poultry inspection program. Seconded by Representative Thimesch, the motion carried.

Rebecca Reed, Department of Agriculture, provided an update on the grain commodity commissions' elections in the western third of the state. (Attachment 2)

Kevin Lickteig, Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission (<u>Attachment 3</u>); David Frey, Kansas Wheat Commission (<u>Attachment 4</u>); and Ed Mader, Kansas Soybean Commission (<u>Attachment 5</u>); presented their respective annual reports, outlined their goals and objectives, highlighted major projects, and reviewed their individual budgets and financial information. Copies of the annual reports, bylaws and operating procedures, roles and responsibilities, budgets, and financial information of the commissions can be obtained from the Department of Agriculture or the respective commissions.

Greg Krissek, Kansas Corn Commission, invited everyone to the Ethanol Educational Seminar to be held Thursday, January 23, 2003, at the Capitol Plaza Hotel.

The meeting adjourned at 4:54 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for January 22, 2003.