MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION K-12.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Kathe Decker at 9:00 a.m. on January 15, 2003 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present:

Committee staff present: Kathie Sparks, Legislative Research Department

Carolyn Rampey, Legislative Research Department

Jill Wolters, Office of Revisor of Statutes Ann Deitcher, Committee Secretary

The Chair explained the rules of the Committee. (Attachment 1).

Committee members each introduced themselves. There are eight new members on the House Education Committee.

Also introduced was Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner of the Kansas Department of Education who was in the audience.

It was announced that the Kansas Teacher of the Year Team would appear before the Committee on January 21. On February 20, the Milken Family Foundation National Educators Awardees will have a presentation.

The Chair said that until further notice, Monday Committee meetings would convene at 9:30 a.m.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:50. The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, January 21, 2003.