Approved: Feb. 4 2004

## MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Kathe Decker at 9:00 a.m. on January 20, 2004 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Representative Willa DeCastro- excused

Committee staff present:

Kathie Sparks Legislative Research Department Art Griggs, Office of the Revisor of Statues Ann Deitcher, Secretary

The Chair recognized Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner for the Kansas Department of Education. Mr. Dennis first introduced Kansas Teacher of the Year and National Finalist, Keil E. Hileman, Monticello Trails Middle School.

Mr. Dennis then introduced the Kansas Teacher of the Year Team that consisted of Erin Vancil, McPherson; Kimberly Ann Thomas, Wichita; Connie Jo Ferree, Emporia; Vicki Lynn O'Neal, Baxter Springs; Greg Mittman, Valley Center; Patrick R. Lamb, Manhattan; and, Sandra J. Groth, Blue Valley.

Each teacher was given an opportunity to speak to the Committee and answer questions.

The meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, January 21, 2004.