Approved: January 27, 2003 Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION K-12.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Kathe Decker at 9:00 a.m. on January 21, 2003 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present:

1 1 /	Kathie Sparks, Legislative Research Department Carolyn Rampey, Legislative Research Department
	Jill Wolters, Office of Revisor of Statutes Ann Deitcher, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:	Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Education Dept.
	Members of Kansas Teacher of the Year Team

The Chair introduced Dale Dennis who in turn introduced the seven representatives of the Kansas Teacher of the Year Team who spoke of their personal experiences in their field.

Those present were: Juliann Bliese, kindergarten and 1st grade, Hays Grade School; Barbara Fowler, 8th grade, Emporia Middle School; Niles Gabrielson, 3rd grade, Maize Grade School; Trey Harrison, biology, ElDorado High School; Jada Kohlmeier, social studies, Desoto High School; Diane Liebsch,6th grade, Atchison Middle School and Pam Tipton, Directed Studies, Seaman High School.

A question and answer session followed.

The meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, January 22, 2003.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1