MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Vickrey at 3:30 p.m. on January 21, 2003 in Room 519-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Rep. Larry Campbell - excused

Committee staff present:

Mike Heim - Legislative Research Department Kathie Sparks - Legislative Research Department Theresa Kiernan - Office of Revisor of Statutes Maureen Stinson - Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: None

Others attending: See attached list

The Chair asked Theresa Kiernan to explain the two requests that were before the committee. She explained that the first request by Rep. Sloan relates to the relocation of water lines for county road and highway projects. The Chair stated that requests without objection would be introduced as committee bills. Rep. Yonally moved that the request for introduction be accepted by committee. Rep. Gilbert seconded the motion. The motion carried. The second request by Rep. Wilk relates to permitting the Board of County Commissioners and the governing bodies of cities and counties to make appointments to the Fire Districts Board of Trustees. Rep. Gilbert moved that the request for introduction be accepted by committee. Rep. Horst seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Copies of the committee rules were distributed and briefly discussed.

The Chairman asked the members to introduce themselves and tell what local government experience they bring with them to the committee.

Chairman Vickrey invited the interested parties in attendance to briefly introduce themselves. Introductions were as follows:

Mike Pepoon	Director	Government Relations, Sedgwick County
Don Moler	Executive Director	League of Kansas Municipalities
Randy Allen	Executive Director	Kansas Association of Counties
Judy Moler	Legislative Services Director	Kansas Association of Counties
Mike Taylor	Director	Government Relations, City of Wichita
Don Seifert	Policy Development Leader	City Manager's Office, City of Olathe
Danielle Noe	Intergovernmental Relations Coordinator	Johnson County
Erik Sartorius	Legislative Consultant	City of Overland Park
Whitney Damron	Governmental Affairs Lobbyist	City of Topeka, Coffey County

The Chairman introduced staff member, Theresa Kiernan, Attorney, from the Office of Revisor of Statutes. She encouraged members to contact her if they have any bills or amendments that need to be drafted.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.

CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT at on January 21, 2003 in Room 519-S of the Capitol.

The Chairman also introduced staff members from the Legislative Research Department. Mike Heim, Principal Analyst, stated that this is his 31st year staffing the House Committee on Local Government. Kathie Sparks, Principal Analyst, was introduced as the other staff member from the Legislative Research Department. They provide general research assistance concerning constituent questions and issues before the committee.

The meeting was adjourned by the Chairman at 4:15 p.m. Next scheduled meeting is January 23, 2003.