Approved:	1-27-03
	Date

MINUTES OF THE JOINT COMMITTEE ON INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Tim Huelskamp at 4:20 p.m. on January 23, 2003, in Room 531-N of the Capitol.

All members were present except Senator Feleciano, who was excused.

Committee staff present:

Richard Hays, Legislative Chief Information Technology Officer Julian Efird, Kansas Legislative Research Department Melissa Calderwood, Kansas Legislative Research Department Gary Deeter, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the Committee: None

Others attending:

Bruce Roberts, Executive Chief Information Technology Officer Rick Miller, Kansas Chief Information Technology Architect Denise Moore, Director, Division of Information Services and Communications

The Chair opened nominations for officers for the next term. Representative Morrison nominated Representative McLeland as Chairperson, seconded by Representative Dillmore. Members cast a unanimous ballot electing Representative McLeland as Chair. Senator Steineger nominated Senator Huelskamp as Vice-Chair, seconded by Representative Dillmore. Members cast a unanimous ballot for Senator Huelskamp to be Vice-Chair of the JCIT.

Bruce Roberts, Executive CITO (Chief Information Technology Officer), introduced Denise Moore, the new Director of the Division of Information Services and Communications, who briefly reviewed her background and education.

Members agreed to postpone any discussion of a request from the Legislative Coordinating Council regarding a job description for the Legislative CITO until the new Chairperson was able to review the information.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:31 p.m.